Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 

Main Directory: 

         
     Write Your Own Review Of

Newport Bay Club

by ZZZ

  
What is the Rating Scale?
5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0 Outstanding
4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0 Recommended
3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0 OK, but not great
2/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.0 Disappointing
1/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.0 Poor
    
         
 

We welcome reviews of Newport Bay Club . For the benefit of others, be sure to focus your comments on how the hotel, restaurant or service succeeded (or failed) to live up to your expectations. Please read our review guidelines for more information. Some recent reviews are provided at the bottom of this page.

All reviews should include the following information. Reviews submitted without the required information will be returned. You may copy and paste these points into your review for simplicity. Please feel free to include additional comments:

Hotel Reviews:

Required:
· Date(s) of Stay:
· Type/Class of room (Standard, Concierge, Park View, etc)
· Accommodations Review:
· Rate/Night (for your stay):
Appreciated, but Optional:
· Ease of Disney Park Access:
· Park Shuttle Comments:
· General Restaurant/Lounge Impressions: (Please submit a separate Restaurant Review for more specific comments)
· Pool Description/Comments:

Restaurant Reviews:

Since the only way a more informed decision can be made by future visitors is by a full description, we ask that you provide more than just a sentence or two on the restaurant. Bad example: "The food was great and the waiters very attentive. I'd eat there again." Good example: "I ordered the house specialty (filet mignon) and it was cooked perfectly, my partner ordered the chicken which was rather dry but the orange sauce was good. We had heavenly flan for dessert, and the wait staff was very attentive. Dinner for two including wine was $40-50."

· Date of visit.
· Type of meal. (Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Drinks only, etc)
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Service, Price, Food, Atmosphere.

Ground transportation Services:

Ground transportation companies vary widely in the types of services offered, so please be specific about the details of your experience. Things to mention in your review:

· Date(s) you used the service.
· Destination. (Airport to hotel, airport to cruise port, hotel to theme parks, etc.)
· What type of vehicle. (Sedan, limo, van, shuttle, bus, etc.)
· How many people in your party and rate paid.
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Price, Vehicle Comfort / Cleanliness, Driver

Future visitors will certainly appreciate any extra information you can provide: how long was the trip to your destination; who paid for parking / tolls (you or the driver); were car seats offered or available, and at what cost; did you have to share the service with other customers; were grocery stops included in your trip; how knowledgeable was the driver.

Also, please note that to submit a review you will need to provide your MousePlanet registered MousePad Username and password.

Posting a review is a simple two-step process. First, complete the form below and click "Preview Your Review". This will allow you to see how your comments will appear online. If no changes are required you may then click the "SUBMIT Review" button at the bottom of the following page. Required fields are indicated with an asterisk*.

Your e-mail address is required, so that we may contact you with additional questions. You have two options to create an author byline to use with your review. You may choose to use your MousePad name only, or give both your e-mail address and MousePad user name a combination of these as your byline. You may not submit anonymous reviews.


To submit a review, you must be registered with MousePlanet in our community area: MousePad. You will need to enter your user ID and password below. If you have forgotten your MousePlanet password, click here to have it sent to you. If you have not yet registered, but would like to, click here.

 
MousePad Username:      Not yet registered?
Password:      Forgot your password?

 
The Review:
* 1. How do you rate Newport Bay Club?
* 2. Date(s) of the visit being reviewed:
* 3. Type your review in the space below: (100-line maximum)
* 4. Your email address:
5. How would you like to sign your review?
e.g.   Tom Jones
  or Tom Jones (tjones@mouseplanet.com)

Use my MousePad user name only
Use both by MousePad user name and my email address
6. Where in the world are you? (e.g. Phoenix, Arizona):
7. Before forwarding your comments for online display, please take a minute to check over a preview of your review.
IMPORTANT. Click the button below ONCE only to preview your review. Please be patient, processing may take a few seconds.
The Fine Print:
  • By submitting your review you are giving MousePlanet the nonexclusive right to post your review on this web site (and possibly within other media).
  • Your review will be posted within five to seven business days.
  • Submissions that do not follow our review guidelines will not be posted.
Average Reviewer Rating:   2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5  Number of Newport Bay Club Reviews: 2
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   March 27-29, 2007
Reviewer: mkraemer Palo Alto, CA     April 14, 2007
Our family of 5 (2 adults, 3 children) had only a few onsite options at DLP: we could get two rooms or we could get a family room at either the DLH or Newport. At the Newport, a family room is on the concierge level and is still less expensive than at the DLH. Based on that, we chose the Newport. Our expectations of an upscale Disney hotel fell so far short that it was stunning.

Before we arrived, I had made reservations for dinner at Walts at Disneyland Park, a birthday party tea party for my daughter at the Plaza Gardens, an in-room balloon surprise for my daughter, two Good Morning Fantasyland breakfasts, and dinner at Buffalo Bills. At check in, we were told that our Walts reservation wasn't available and that we'd have to go to a different counter and talk to the concierge about it (they would have made a better impression if they'd told us that they'd changed the reservation to a half-hour earlier rather than telling us it had been cancelled). The balloon surprise was no longer on our reservation (but it was added again and worked out fine). There were no problems with the tea party or Buffalo Bills, but perhaps the fact that we'd already paid for those things helped? The staff seemed lukewarm, as if they were merely tolerating us; a far cry from the emphasis that Disney CMs in the US have toward making people feel welcome as guests.

Before our trip, we understood that as Disney hotel guests, we would receive one 'hotel fastpass' per person per day. When we checked in, we were told that only the DLH and Hotel New York gave those passes (not to be confused with the DLP system of VIP fastpasses). Fortunately, the park was not terribly crowded and we managed on regular fastpasses just fine without the added freebie, but it felt like a bait and switch.

Our room was fairly large, and it could have easily accommodated two queen beds rather than the doubles it had. There was a very uncomfortable sofabed available for one of the children. For an upscale Disney property, I had expectations about the room, and those expectations did not include peeling wallpaper, curtains that had fallen off their hooks, and disgusting mold in the bathroom. The beds were not comfortable. The decor was extremely spare. I have stayed in better budget properties in the US.

The pool area was unimpressive and noisy, even when it was not especially crowded. There is a ship bow that juts into the pool area, but no slide. The hot tub was only tepid (huh?) and it seemed like Disney had given almost no thought to theming this pool. Ho hum.

Having breakfast in Fantasyland is wonderful, but my understanding is that the reason it's available to Newport guests is because their breakfast is dreadfully overcrowded. Fortunately, we missed that particular pleasure and were able to enjoy a nice breakfast in the park an hour before opening (which gave us quicker access to rides!)

I don't mind spending money when it's worthwhile, but the Newport cashes in on its Disney name without giving any real worth back. I would never stay there again and would never encourage anyone else to do so either.
 
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   October 1999
Reviewer: JJSingh (jjsingh@aol.com) Studio City, California     November 25, 2002
When viewed from afar, the Newport Bay Club looks quite lovely and almost quaint. As you drive closer, though, the hotel becomes almost imposing in its size -- which is the overall feeling you come away with after a stay here: the place is large, overwhelmingly so.

Stepping into the lobby, you may think you've somehow found yourself at Walt Disney World's Yacht Club or Beach Club -- not a surprise, since all three were designed by Robert A.M. Stern. The service is EuroDisney's typical strange mix of Parisian apathy and Disney "guest service." It doesn't always blend well, and all three times I've stayed here I've heard people complaining at the front desk about one thing or another.

The hotel is difficult to navigate, even with extensive signage. Finding your room may be even more of a difficult task here as it is at the likewise-labyrinthine Yacht/Beach Clubs. The difference is that while the WDW resorts are laid out on just three floors, there are (I believe) eight stories at the NBC, in a building even larger than the ones in Florida. It is imposing and overpowering.

The rooms are nicely sized by Parisian and European standards, though Americans may be disappointed. They're nicely laid out and comfortable enough for a short stay. DO MAKE SURE to ask in advance that your bedding be thoroughly changed and/or washed before your arrival. Your request should be honored.

Because of the hotel's size, bell services are slow at the NBC, so be prepared for a wait. There is no room service, also due to the hotel's size.

None of the rooms feature a particularly spectacular view, unless you get excited by looking at other hotels across a rectangular, manmade lake.

The lounge and restaurants are quite acceptable, though not particularly memorable. The lounge is loud and not tremendously relaxing, though it's a great place to spend some time socializing if you're with a group. There is a very nice gift shop on the lobby level.

The convention center facilities are very good and the staff here is better than at the hotel proper.

The walk to Disneyland Paris itself is acceptable at about 15 minutes (leisurely paced), but if you go during a colder time of year, be warned -- Marne-la-Vallee can be VERY cold and windy, making the walk rather inhospitable. Bundle up! During the warmer months, it's a lovely stroll.

Overall, NBC is a nice hotel, but not at all on par with Disney's deluxe resorts at WDW. If you absolutely must stay at DLP/EuroDisney for a convention or business, it's a nice choice and a bit more welcoming and "warm" than the Hotel New York. On the other hand, if you're visiting for a couple of days, you would be much better off spending your money on a nice hotel in Paris and round-trip RER tickets each day.
 
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page