Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 

Main Directory: 

         
     Write Your Own Review Of

Sequoia Lodge

by ZZZ

  
What is the Rating Scale?
5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0 Outstanding
4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0 Recommended
3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0 OK, but not great
2/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.0 Disappointing
1/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.0 Poor
    
         
 

We welcome reviews of Sequoia Lodge . For the benefit of others, be sure to focus your comments on how the hotel, restaurant or service succeeded (or failed) to live up to your expectations. Please read our review guidelines for more information. Some recent reviews are provided at the bottom of this page.

All reviews should include the following information. Reviews submitted without the required information will be returned. You may copy and paste these points into your review for simplicity. Please feel free to include additional comments:

Hotel Reviews:

Required:
· Date(s) of Stay:
· Type/Class of room (Standard, Concierge, Park View, etc)
· Accommodations Review:
· Rate/Night (for your stay):
Appreciated, but Optional:
· Ease of Disney Park Access:
· Park Shuttle Comments:
· General Restaurant/Lounge Impressions: (Please submit a separate Restaurant Review for more specific comments)
· Pool Description/Comments:

Restaurant Reviews:

Since the only way a more informed decision can be made by future visitors is by a full description, we ask that you provide more than just a sentence or two on the restaurant. Bad example: "The food was great and the waiters very attentive. I'd eat there again." Good example: "I ordered the house specialty (filet mignon) and it was cooked perfectly, my partner ordered the chicken which was rather dry but the orange sauce was good. We had heavenly flan for dessert, and the wait staff was very attentive. Dinner for two including wine was $40-50."

· Date of visit.
· Type of meal. (Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Drinks only, etc)
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Service, Price, Food, Atmosphere.

Ground transportation Services:

Ground transportation companies vary widely in the types of services offered, so please be specific about the details of your experience. Things to mention in your review:

· Date(s) you used the service.
· Destination. (Airport to hotel, airport to cruise port, hotel to theme parks, etc.)
· What type of vehicle. (Sedan, limo, van, shuttle, bus, etc.)
· How many people in your party and rate paid.
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Price, Vehicle Comfort / Cleanliness, Driver

Future visitors will certainly appreciate any extra information you can provide: how long was the trip to your destination; who paid for parking / tolls (you or the driver); were car seats offered or available, and at what cost; did you have to share the service with other customers; were grocery stops included in your trip; how knowledgeable was the driver.

Also, please note that to submit a review you will need to provide your MousePlanet registered MousePad Username and password.

Posting a review is a simple two-step process. First, complete the form below and click "Preview Your Review". This will allow you to see how your comments will appear online. If no changes are required you may then click the "SUBMIT Review" button at the bottom of the following page. Required fields are indicated with an asterisk*.

Your e-mail address is required, so that we may contact you with additional questions. You have two options to create an author byline to use with your review. You may choose to use your MousePad name only, or give both your e-mail address and MousePad user name a combination of these as your byline. You may not submit anonymous reviews.


To submit a review, you must be registered with MousePlanet in our community area: MousePad. You will need to enter your user ID and password below. If you have forgotten your MousePlanet password, click here to have it sent to you. If you have not yet registered, but would like to, click here.

 
MousePad Username:      Not yet registered?
Password:      Forgot your password?

 
The Review:
* 1. How do you rate Sequoia Lodge?
* 2. Date(s) of the visit being reviewed:
* 3. Type your review in the space below: (100-line maximum)
* 4. Your email address:
5. How would you like to sign your review?
e.g.   Tom Jones
  or Tom Jones (tjones@mouseplanet.com)

Use my MousePad user name only
Use both by MousePad user name and my email address
6. Where in the world are you? (e.g. Phoenix, Arizona):
7. Before forwarding your comments for online display, please take a minute to check over a preview of your review.
IMPORTANT. Click the button below ONCE only to preview your review. Please be patient, processing may take a few seconds.
The Fine Print:
  • By submitting your review you are giving MousePlanet the nonexclusive right to post your review on this web site (and possibly within other media).
  • Your review will be posted within five to seven business days.
  • Submissions that do not follow our review guidelines will not be posted.
Average Reviewer Rating:   3.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 5  Number of Sequoia Lodge Reviews: 4
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   January 12 thru January 15, 2006
Reviewer: Nancywitt Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania     January 21, 2006
This is a beautiful hotel but not quite the wow factor of the Wilderness Lodge. You can tell they tried to get the national park theme down. The cast members were dressed like park rangers and we even saw Goofy dressed like a ranger! (The characters tend to show up when you least expect it.) There is a huge working fireplace in the main bar which we would have loved to take advantage of, but by the end of the evening the whole place was full of cigerette smoke. The French sure do smoke a lot! We checked it at 11AM and had to store our luggage until our room was available at 3PM. But that was ok since the receptionist gave us our park tickets and we were off to explore the parks, which were only a short ten minute walk away!

Every morning you were offered a free continental breakfast at one of the two hotel restaurants, or you could eat your free breakfast at Fantasyland. The meal was very filling, and the restaurant was nice and the staff very friendly. Breakfast included croisants, cereal, cold cuts, cheese, yogurt, coffee and juice. Very tasty. We did not eat in these restaurants for lunch or dinner though since we were in the parks. The menu looked good but it also looked a bit too pricey for us. My husband went to investigate one evening and the Beaver Creek Tavern could fit us in at 9PM for their buffet but the final cost would be 100 euros for the four of us! Too much!

There is a pool on site. The pool did not have a shallow end and the water was too cold for us, but it did have a fun slide and a hot tub, but again, the water was not hot enough. There is a locker room for your convience but we just ran to our room. Unlike the hotels at Disney in the states, this hotel had a charge for towel usage at the pool. That was dissapointing.

We stayed in the main building in what they call a Montana room. It is slightly bigger then the standard room but they charged us the same rate ($750 for three nights, breakfast and park tickets included. Our two boys were free). We had a view of the front of the resort which was beautiful because there were huge evergreen trees right outside the window. You could request a room overlooking the lake.

There is a shop at the hotel to buy gifts and snacks. They even have wine for sale. Those French and their wine! The shop was very nice and the staff were great.

Check out was easy, they just tally up your bill and leave it on your door. If the charges make sense, they just bill your credit card. A very nice place to stay, I recommend it!
 
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   July 15-21, 2004
Reviewer: TweedlDum9 Upland, California     November 14, 2005
My friends and I were going to go the cheap route and stay at the Santa Fe, but one of my fellow Disneyland CMs stayed there a few months earlier and said it was horrible. We stayed for a whole week, and as Disney Cast Members we got 30% off the room.

The main reason for upgrading to the Sequoia Lodge was because it was the cheapest hotel to offer both a pool and air conditioning (the Santa Fe and Cheyenne only come with ceiling fans). To our surprise, the weather was fairly cool all week (we hardly used the A/C), but it was still a nicer hotel.

STANDARD ROOM: We stayed in one of the standard "Lodge" buildings, which are actually outside behind the main building. Our room was at the very end of the second floor. After all the long days we had, the flight of stairs (no elevators in the Lodge buildings) suddenly became very frustrating and tiring. The Lodge buildings are a little bit closer to the walkway to the Parks than the main building, so that was nice. The bathroom was small by American standards but was fine. There was no fan in our bathroom, however, so we sometimes had to leave the door open to air it out. The room came with a nice chair, small table, big dresser, and two double beds. Beware, though, that requesting the free "cot" will not get you a typical American Boy Scout cot (which was what we'd expected). Instead, they define "cot" as "portable baby crib." Whoops.

THEMING: The whole hotel is very nicely themed from the wooden interiors of the lobby and restaurants to the lush landscaping along all the outside walkways.
A few areas were being remodeled during our visit, and I noticed some other things needing maintenance. In particular, there were several places where the wallpaper was badly peeling. Some of the woodwork looked like it needed to be touched up or replaced. Like I said earlier, this is typical of moderate European hotels.

POOL: The pool is designed to be half-inside and half-outside. Since it was cool most of the days we were there, almost everyone stayed inside so it felt a little crowded and very humid. There was also a short waterslide and a small spa.

PARK SHUTTLES: We actually opted to walk from the hotel to the parks almost every time. If you missed the bus, it sometimes took almost 30 minutes to catch the next one (our bus went to both Sequoia Lodge and Newport Bay Hotel). Timewise, though, it seemed like the bus ride took almost as long as walking... but with walking, we never had to wait. That being said, the walk from Sequoia Lodge to the parks took anywhere from 5-10 minutes depending on how quickly we walked. Bring everything you'll for the entire day when you first leave the hotel; you'll lose at least a half-hour every time we had to go back to the hotel to get something.

CAST MEMBERS: The hotel Cast Members were very friendly, and most I saw spoke English. I've heard bad stories about rude Cast Members, but I had plenty of pleasant experiences. When calling the Front Desk or Concierge by phone, I would always say both "Bonjour" and "Hello" to kinda signal that I only spoke English. I'm not sure if it was proper, but it made me feel less embarrassed.

CONCIERGE: Concierge was very helpful in terms of helping us get priority seating for restaurants and also provided information about some of the sightseeing in Paris itself. We booked the day-long sightseeing tour offered through DLRP and, although I think it was about 50 Euros per person, it was totally worth the money.

BREAKFAST: For breakfast at the hotel, be aware that you need to pick out a card with a set Breakfast Time for your room (a la Fastpass) when you check in. You will need a separate card for each day of your stay, so bring the correct card with you in order to get into the restaurant. The breakfast buffet is included in the room rates, but we slept in since we didn't get a very good selection of times (we arrived late the day we checked in). They also offer a free "Breakfast in the Park" option if you want to get up early and eat in Fantasyland before Park opening instead of at the hotel restaurant, but we did not take advantage of it.

CHECK-IN/OUT: The Cast Member was very friendly, welcoming, and efficient. Like I said, he made sure we selected our breakfast cards and also gave us some information about the parks. We also got a sort of Resort ID Card (like WDW), but we never used it since they don't actively restrict the Hotel shuttles to Hotel Guests and we never charged anything to the room. But the card makes a nice souvenir. And if you want to play in the Parks after you check out, you can leave your bags at the Left Luggage room for free.
 
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   September 25-29, 2004
Reviewer: mmurray Austin, Texas     May 13, 2005
The exterior of the main building and grounds are beautiful and impeccably maintained, as one expects from Disney. Check-in was completed in under 15 minutes. The landscaping is beautiful. The main pool is inside its own building. I did not use it, but peeked inside. Check for photos of it online. It is beautiful and quite unique. I walked past it to my room daily and saw many families having a great time there.

I looked forward to seeing my room, but was severely disappointed. Being a regular visitor to WDW hotels, I was surprised to find my standard room to be unclean and smelling of sweat. Lightswitches on lamps and walls were encrusted with dirt-- I've never seen such a thing. The bedspread looked soiled and slept on. The room was very dark and the lightbulbs in all lights were extremely dim. I will say, however, that when I returned to Guest Services, the woman there quickly found me another room that was better in that it was clean and did not smell. However, the lighting is extremely poor and the dark colors of the furniture (dark walnut) and natural maroons/deep oranges/yellows of the bedspread and curtains make the room seem like a cave. The bathroom was in good shape so I decided to stay. Besides, as a woman traveling solo, I didn't think it was a good idea to press the issue and try to find another room at a different hotel. I would highly recommend opting for the next hotel class, I believe Hotel New York or the water-themed hotel (Newport?), as the rooms there would hopefully be better for the premium, or even better, the magnificent Disneyland Hotel at the park's entrance. I would try to stay at least one night there and then move to a cheaper hotel if price is an issue. It is truly beautiful and reminiscent of the Grand Floridian in architectural style. A final warning to those taking first trips to France: hotels there are not of the same quality as we are used to in the U.S.-- in fact, you could say this about many places in Europe. Be prepared for worn furnishings, carpets and a bit of grime anywhere you go except for chain hotels that cater to more international visitors/business travelers. On 3 trips to France I rarely stayed in a hotel I would ever consider staying at in the U.S. We have better options here.

I had 3 breakfasts (included in cost of the hotel room) here and was pleasantly surprised at the quantity and quality of food offered. "Upgrades" can be purchased for more traditional American fare, like pancakes, on a separate buffet, but the free buffet is excellent and you can have a filling breakfast with an assortment of European pastries, breads, chocolate croissants (yay), fresh fruits, yogurts, cereals....and a big surprise for big coffee drinkers, the Nescafe coffee machines have very good coffee in them. The dining area is beautifully themed and really does remind one of the Wilderness Lodge, as does much of the main building's design and interior.
The main building has a very nice store as well with snacks, magazines, and a nice selection of souveniers. At the newstand behind the cashiers, check for the French version of cartoon books-- I purchased a great Donald Duck Adventures book for under 4 euro.
Have fun! Disneyland Paris is a wonderful, unique place!
 
 

Show All Reviews

Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page