Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 

Main Directory: 

         
     Write Your Own Review Of

Rancho del Zocalo

by ZZZ

  
What is the Rating Scale?
5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0 Outstanding
4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0 Recommended
3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0 OK, but not great
2/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.0 Disappointing
1/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.0 Poor
    
    

Description:
Rancho del Zocalo offers Mexican dishes and grilled chicken and shrimp.

    
 

We welcome reviews of Rancho del Zocalo . For the benefit of others, be sure to focus your comments on how the hotel, restaurant or service succeeded (or failed) to live up to your expectations. Please read our review guidelines for more information. Some recent reviews are provided at the bottom of this page.

All reviews should include the following information. Reviews submitted without the required information will be returned. You may copy and paste these points into your review for simplicity. Please feel free to include additional comments:

Hotel Reviews:

Required:
· Date(s) of Stay:
· Type/Class of room (Standard, Concierge, Park View, etc)
· Accommodations Review:
· Rate/Night (for your stay):
Appreciated, but Optional:
· Ease of Disney Park Access:
· Park Shuttle Comments:
· General Restaurant/Lounge Impressions: (Please submit a separate Restaurant Review for more specific comments)
· Pool Description/Comments:

Restaurant Reviews:

Since the only way a more informed decision can be made by future visitors is by a full description, we ask that you provide more than just a sentence or two on the restaurant. Bad example: "The food was great and the waiters very attentive. I'd eat there again." Good example: "I ordered the house specialty (filet mignon) and it was cooked perfectly, my partner ordered the chicken which was rather dry but the orange sauce was good. We had heavenly flan for dessert, and the wait staff was very attentive. Dinner for two including wine was $40-50."

· Date of visit.
· Type of meal. (Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Drinks only, etc)
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Service, Price, Food, Atmosphere.

Ground transportation Services:

Ground transportation companies vary widely in the types of services offered, so please be specific about the details of your experience. Things to mention in your review:

· Date(s) you used the service.
· Destination. (Airport to hotel, airport to cruise port, hotel to theme parks, etc.)
· What type of vehicle. (Sedan, limo, van, shuttle, bus, etc.)
· How many people in your party and rate paid.
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Price, Vehicle Comfort / Cleanliness, Driver

Future visitors will certainly appreciate any extra information you can provide: how long was the trip to your destination; who paid for parking / tolls (you or the driver); were car seats offered or available, and at what cost; did you have to share the service with other customers; were grocery stops included in your trip; how knowledgeable was the driver.

Also, please note that to submit a review you will need to provide your MousePlanet registered MousePad Username and password.

Posting a review is a simple two-step process. First, complete the form below and click "Preview Your Review". This will allow you to see how your comments will appear online. If no changes are required you may then click the "SUBMIT Review" button at the bottom of the following page. Required fields are indicated with an asterisk*.

Your e-mail address is required, so that we may contact you with additional questions. You have two options to create an author byline to use with your review. You may choose to use your MousePad name only, or give both your e-mail address and MousePad user name a combination of these as your byline. You may not submit anonymous reviews.


To submit a review, you must be registered with MousePlanet in our community area: MousePad. You will need to enter your user ID and password below. If you have forgotten your MousePlanet password, click here to have it sent to you. If you have not yet registered, but would like to, click here.

 
MousePad Username:      Not yet registered?
Password:      Forgot your password?

 
The Review:
* 1. How do you rate Rancho del Zocalo?
* 2. Date(s) of the visit being reviewed:
* 3. Type your review in the space below: (100-line maximum)
* 4. Your email address:
5. How would you like to sign your review?
e.g.   Tom Jones
  or Tom Jones (tjones@mouseplanet.com)

Use my MousePad user name only
Use both by MousePad user name and my email address
6. Where in the world are you? (e.g. Phoenix, Arizona):
7. Before forwarding your comments for online display, please take a minute to check over a preview of your review.
IMPORTANT. Click the button below ONCE only to preview your review. Please be patient, processing may take a few seconds.
The Fine Print:
  • By submitting your review you are giving MousePlanet the nonexclusive right to post your review on this web site (and possibly within other media).
  • Your review will be posted within five to seven business days.
  • Submissions that do not follow our review guidelines will not be posted.
Average Reviewer Rating:   3.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 5  Number of Rancho del Zocalo Reviews: 33
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   11-7-10
Reviewer: nautiMATT San Diego, CA     November 11, 2010
We all know one gets raked over the coals with mind-boggling high prices at Disneyland eateries. Where else can you get a slice of pizza that if you bought the whole pie it would cost you nearly $60.00?

Unlike several years ago, there IS something you can do to voice your discontent: Exit the park and visit one of many comparatively reasonable-priced restaurants in Downtown Disney.

But if you want the Disney atmosphere while you refuel, the Rancho is one spot where the food bill goes down a little easier. The overall Ameri-Mexican food is adequately tasty and if you pick a burrito offering, be prepared to be either fully stuffed or share the extras.

I am a creature of habit. I order the same item every time: The Chicken Sonora Burrito that comes with a healthy-sized sides of rice, beans, salsa, real guacamole and sour cream. Jeesh, that thing is good! And the burrito assembly cast members are very accommodating. They fulfill my request for extra sauce and cheese every time with a smile.

Since Rancho was first listed listed in this forum, Grilled Fish Tacos have been added to the menu. A companion of mine placed an order and shared a bite with me. We were both shocked at how wonderful they were. Perfectly grilled, the fillets sported a pan blackened-style crust of spices that bursted off the tongue. If you are shy of spice or heat (pitty you), stay away! These bold tacos were the shocking surprise of the day coming from the Park's usual vanilla please-the-masses taste.

I must say that after all these years and Park visits, the Rancho is a more recent discovery. Heck, I live in San Diego where there is nearly a taco shop on every corner. Why again have Mexican food at Disneyland?

The Park's best value is the answer.
 
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   July 10, 2010
Reviewer: Cyberkang Canby, Oregon     July 20, 2010
I liked Rancho Del Zocalo's food - it was nice and just what was expected - but it was their service and attentiveness that won them the 5 planet review.

We arrived at Disney at 5PM on Saturday the 10th for our first day in the park - for my wife and I it was our first time in 20+ years, for our two youngest it was their first time ever - only our 17-year old daughter had been to Disneyland recently. So we were kind of wandering aimlessly and came across Rancho Del Zocalo quite by accident. Having read about it in the guides, I made a command decision to give it a try.

We faced a couple obstacles to this - my 17 year old daughter is lactose intolerant, so cheese and sour cream are out. And my 10-year old daughter had spent the day in the car telling us how she wanted soup for dinner, so I was telling her that we could have mexican food tonight and maybe soup for one of the other days, when one of the attendants in the restaurant recommended that if it was soup she's after, they have soup on the menu - chicken tortilla soup! So Libby had that, and ate the heck out of it... she thought it was terrific. Maddie (the lactose intolerant one) asked for her enchiladas w/o cheese or sour cream, which touched off a discussion among the cooks and servers as to whether the enchilada sauce was milk-free. Maddie was about to tell them that a little milk was OK when the cooks just went ahead and (without being asked to) make a new batch of sauce just for her, just to be sure. That, my friends, is personal service.

I really liked how they cook the food right there where you can see it - steaks on the griddle cooking, sliced and put on your plate. The food was fresh and tasty and more than filling. As usual, I had to help my kids finish theirs.

Overall, it was a terrific way to catch our breath on our first night in the park! Highly recommended.
 
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   July 3, 2010
Reviewer: Goosegirl Grass Valley, CA     July 08, 2010
We ate dinner at Rancho del Zocalo on Saturday evening. I LOVE Mexican food and had been wanting to eat at this restaurant for quite some time because it is so pretty.
I chose the enchiladas, and while the portion was quite large, the food was almost flavorless. This did not taste like real Mexican food to me. It was more like the frozen enchiladas from the grocery store. I also got the bag of chips and salsa. The chips were pretty good but the salsa was not good. I usually buy my salsa fairly mild, but this was bland even for me.
My husband ordered the Carne Asada and again, it was a generous portion, but not very flavorful. My older daughter ordered the tortilla soup and it was also boring but it was also a small portion. Our 5 year old ordered the chicken taco child meal and only ate the rice and the apple sauce. My older daughter ate the rest of her chicken tacos because she was hungry but said it was not great either.

Maybe we are just spoiled with really great Mexican food where we live so we were very unimpressed with the flavor of the food from Rancho del Zocalo. The service was friendly and the cashier reminded me that drink refills were free. And the restaurant is really beautiful and well laid out. Price was reasonable for the portion size. We just did not love the food.
 
 

Show All Reviews

Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page