Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 

Main Directory: 

         
     Write Your Own Review Of

Balboa Inn

by ZZZ

  
What is the Rating Scale?
5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0 Outstanding
4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0 Recommended
3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0 OK, but not great
2/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.0 Disappointing
1/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.0 Poor
    
    

Description:
105 Main Street, Balboa

    
 

We welcome reviews of Balboa Inn . For the benefit of others, be sure to focus your comments on how the hotel, restaurant or service succeeded (or failed) to live up to your expectations. Please read our review guidelines for more information. Some recent reviews are provided at the bottom of this page.

All reviews should include the following information. Reviews submitted without the required information will be returned. You may copy and paste these points into your review for simplicity. Please feel free to include additional comments:

Hotel Reviews:

Required:
· Date(s) of Stay:
· Type/Class of room (Standard, Concierge, Park View, etc)
· Accommodations Review:
· Rate/Night (for your stay):
Appreciated, but Optional:
· Ease of Disney Park Access:
· Park Shuttle Comments:
· General Restaurant/Lounge Impressions: (Please submit a separate Restaurant Review for more specific comments)
· Pool Description/Comments:

Restaurant Reviews:

Since the only way a more informed decision can be made by future visitors is by a full description, we ask that you provide more than just a sentence or two on the restaurant. Bad example: "The food was great and the waiters very attentive. I'd eat there again." Good example: "I ordered the house specialty (filet mignon) and it was cooked perfectly, my partner ordered the chicken which was rather dry but the orange sauce was good. We had heavenly flan for dessert, and the wait staff was very attentive. Dinner for two including wine was $40-50."

· Date of visit.
· Type of meal. (Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Drinks only, etc)
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Service, Price, Food, Atmosphere.

Ground transportation Services:

Ground transportation companies vary widely in the types of services offered, so please be specific about the details of your experience. Things to mention in your review:

· Date(s) you used the service.
· Destination. (Airport to hotel, airport to cruise port, hotel to theme parks, etc.)
· What type of vehicle. (Sedan, limo, van, shuttle, bus, etc.)
· How many people in your party and rate paid.
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Price, Vehicle Comfort / Cleanliness, Driver

Future visitors will certainly appreciate any extra information you can provide: how long was the trip to your destination; who paid for parking / tolls (you or the driver); were car seats offered or available, and at what cost; did you have to share the service with other customers; were grocery stops included in your trip; how knowledgeable was the driver.

Also, please note that to submit a review you will need to provide your MousePlanet registered MousePad Username and password.

Posting a review is a simple two-step process. First, complete the form below and click "Preview Your Review". This will allow you to see how your comments will appear online. If no changes are required you may then click the "SUBMIT Review" button at the bottom of the following page. Required fields are indicated with an asterisk*.

Your e-mail address is required, so that we may contact you with additional questions. You have two options to create an author byline to use with your review. You may choose to use your MousePad name only, or give both your e-mail address and MousePad user name a combination of these as your byline. You may not submit anonymous reviews.


To submit a review, you must be registered with MousePlanet in our community area: MousePad. You will need to enter your user ID and password below. If you have forgotten your MousePlanet password, click here to have it sent to you. If you have not yet registered, but would like to, click here.

 
MousePad Username:      Not yet registered?
Password:      Forgot your password?

 
The Review:
* 1. How do you rate Balboa Inn?
* 2. Date(s) of the visit being reviewed:
* 3. Type your review in the space below: (100-line maximum)
* 4. Your email address:
5. How would you like to sign your review?
e.g.   Tom Jones
  or Tom Jones (tjones@mouseplanet.com)

Use my MousePad user name only
Use both by MousePad user name and my email address
6. Where in the world are you? (e.g. Phoenix, Arizona):
7. Before forwarding your comments for online display, please take a minute to check over a preview of your review.
IMPORTANT. Click the button below ONCE only to preview your review. Please be patient, processing may take a few seconds.
The Fine Print:
  • By submitting your review you are giving MousePlanet the nonexclusive right to post your review on this web site (and possibly within other media).
  • Your review will be posted within five to seven business days.
  • Submissions that do not follow our review guidelines will not be posted.
Average Reviewer Rating:   1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5  Number of Balboa Inn Reviews: 1
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   8/15/2002
Reviewer: satellite_chris Saint Louis, Missouri     November 19, 2002
Date(s) of Stay: 8/15/2002
Type/Class of room: Ocean View Suite, Jacuzzi
Accommodations Review: Poor. Please read full review below.
Rate/Night (for your stay): $460/night

Prior to my very brief stay at Balboa Inn in Balboa/Newport Beach, California, I was unable to find any online reviews of the hotel. This was to my detriment as I soon discovered that it is NOT worth the money in my opinion. I learned the hard way - I hope that others will consider my opinion so that you too do not loose out on hundreds of dollars on sub par accommodations.

I had reserved the best one bedroom suite in the complex that had a step price tag of over $400. I was not given any cancellation policy. The reservation was verbal and when I asked about the policy they told me there was NO WAY that I would not love this room. It was said to have an ocean view. It turns out that this ocean view is very far in the distance. There is about a half a mile of parking lots and other junk before your eyes ever meet the ocean. Considering this is only a two-story establishment; the view of the ocean is minimal at best. Don't forget that what they call the ocean is really only a bay.

I could live with this; however, the accommodations were so far grade below the price and what was advertised. The Jacuzzi tub that I was told was big enough for two was nothing more than a tiny tub with a few jets. The sales person told me that I would be able to see the ocean while sitting in this Jacuzzi. Let me tell you that this did not happen, nor was it possible. In fact the tub looked disgusting and the jets were encrusted with rust and the finish of the tub was chipping away. I would not have bathed in this tub if you paid me. Lets move on to the tiles on the floor in the bathroom. They appeared as if they had not been cleaned for several years. Disgusting looking grout made me feel as though the toilet was unfit for use. I would not feel comfortable walking in the bathroom with socks on, let along barefoot.

These issues were enough for me to not stay in the room for more than 10 minutes. (Most of which were spent using their phone book to try to find other accommodations at the last minute on my cell phone).

I removed all my bags and headed straight back to the lobby and requested to speak with the manager. I explained that the room did not meet the expectations I made based on the information on their website: http://www.balboainn.com. I explained my disgust for the sanitary condition of the room as well as the false advertising. She told me that I could not leave without signing a credit card slip for one nights rate, even though I REFUSED to stay in this dump. They said that normally they would have charged me for my entire stay but they wanted to do me a "favor" so that I would not give them a bad name. TOO LATE. What could I do? Leave and be arrested? I signed the slip so that I could leave, but not by my own choice.

So I leave aggravated and $525 dollars poorer with nothing to show. I stayed at another hotel for the evening. In the morning I called my credit card company to put in a dispute for this charge. The credit card company said that there was a charge for over $2000 on my card from Balboa Inn. I immediately called Balboa Inn and complained about this mischarge as well as my nights stay (this was a different manager on the phone) and how I felt I should not be charged anything. The manager would not remove the $525 in charges but did agree to take care of the $2000+ charge.

Since then I have filed complaints with the Better Business Bureau of Los Angelos. The initial response from Balboa Inn was "we will give you a free nights stay". Why would I want a free night in a place that was not suitable for sleeping in? I sent a rebuttal, but have not heard back from the BBB.

I have also started a dispute claim with my credit card company. It is still pending and being investigated.

 
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page