Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 

Main Directory: 

         
     Write Your Own Review Of

Captain Kidd's Family Restaurant

by MousePlanet

  
What is the Rating Scale?
5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0 Outstanding
4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0 Recommended
3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0 OK, but not great
2/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.0 Disappointing
1/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.0 Poor
    
    

Description:
1550 South Harbor Blvd, Anaheim

Table service restaurant featuring pizza and an all-you-can-eat buffet (formerly Mom's Restaurant)

    
 

We welcome reviews of Captain Kidd's Family Restaurant . For the benefit of others, be sure to focus your comments on how the hotel, restaurant or service succeeded (or failed) to live up to your expectations. Please read our review guidelines for more information. Some recent reviews are provided at the bottom of this page.

All reviews should include the following information. Reviews submitted without the required information will be returned. You may copy and paste these points into your review for simplicity. Please feel free to include additional comments:

Hotel Reviews:

Required:
· Date(s) of Stay:
· Type/Class of room (Standard, Concierge, Park View, etc)
· Accommodations Review:
· Rate/Night (for your stay):
Appreciated, but Optional:
· Ease of Disney Park Access:
· Park Shuttle Comments:
· General Restaurant/Lounge Impressions: (Please submit a separate Restaurant Review for more specific comments)
· Pool Description/Comments:

Restaurant Reviews:

Since the only way a more informed decision can be made by future visitors is by a full description, we ask that you provide more than just a sentence or two on the restaurant. Bad example: "The food was great and the waiters very attentive. I'd eat there again." Good example: "I ordered the house specialty (filet mignon) and it was cooked perfectly, my partner ordered the chicken which was rather dry but the orange sauce was good. We had heavenly flan for dessert, and the wait staff was very attentive. Dinner for two including wine was $40-50."

· Date of visit.
· Type of meal. (Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Drinks only, etc)
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Service, Price, Food, Atmosphere.

Ground transportation Services:

Ground transportation companies vary widely in the types of services offered, so please be specific about the details of your experience. Things to mention in your review:

· Date(s) you used the service.
· Destination. (Airport to hotel, airport to cruise port, hotel to theme parks, etc.)
· What type of vehicle. (Sedan, limo, van, shuttle, bus, etc.)
· How many people in your party and rate paid.
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Price, Vehicle Comfort / Cleanliness, Driver

Future visitors will certainly appreciate any extra information you can provide: how long was the trip to your destination; who paid for parking / tolls (you or the driver); were car seats offered or available, and at what cost; did you have to share the service with other customers; were grocery stops included in your trip; how knowledgeable was the driver.

Also, please note that to submit a review you will need to provide your MousePlanet registered MousePad Username and password.

Posting a review is a simple two-step process. First, complete the form below and click "Preview Your Review". This will allow you to see how your comments will appear online. If no changes are required you may then click the "SUBMIT Review" button at the bottom of the following page. Required fields are indicated with an asterisk*.

Your e-mail address is required, so that we may contact you with additional questions. You have two options to create an author byline to use with your review. You may choose to use your MousePad name only, or give both your e-mail address and MousePad user name a combination of these as your byline. You may not submit anonymous reviews.


To submit a review, you must be registered with MousePlanet in our community area: MousePad. You will need to enter your user ID and password below. If you have forgotten your MousePlanet password, click here to have it sent to you. If you have not yet registered, but would like to, click here.

 
MousePad Username:      Not yet registered?
Password:      Forgot your password?

 
The Review:
* 1. How do you rate Captain Kidd's Family Restaurant?
* 2. Date(s) of the visit being reviewed:
* 3. Type your review in the space below: (100-line maximum)
* 4. Your email address:
5. How would you like to sign your review?
e.g.   Tom Jones
  or Tom Jones (tjones@mouseplanet.com)

Use my MousePad user name only
Use both by MousePad user name and my email address
6. Where in the world are you? (e.g. Phoenix, Arizona):
7. Before forwarding your comments for online display, please take a minute to check over a preview of your review.
IMPORTANT. Click the button below ONCE only to preview your review. Please be patient, processing may take a few seconds.
The Fine Print:
  • By submitting your review you are giving MousePlanet the nonexclusive right to post your review on this web site (and possibly within other media).
  • Your review will be posted within five to seven business days.
  • Submissions that do not follow our review guidelines will not be posted.
Average Reviewer Rating:   1.6 out of 51.6 out of 51.6 out of 51.6 out of 51.6 out of 5  Number of Captain Kidd's Family Restaurant Reviews: 8
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   10/21/08
Reviewer: rasberry6 Anaheim, California     November 21, 2008
Run away as fast as you can!
May god have mercy on your strangled intestines!

Me and my husband are both young adults, 20 and 21. We do not have picky tastes, in fact we pretty much eat everything. We eat continental breakfasts like its our job. When pulling into our room at the Best Western Anaheim, Disneyland we saw the sign for buffet. We were instantly excited. We were tired and starving and we wanted to eat eat eat. We looked at eachother and said "we know what we're having for dinner tonight, and oh my it's only 7.99$" Little did we know we were paying for horror. The mac and cheese was cold both times we selected it, The salad lettuce was dank and digusting and there was a little bit of it dripping at the bottoms of the platters, but very little. Only veggie choice was jalapenos. There was no pizza and garlic bread for the first 40 minutes of our dinner. When it came we realized we were not missing anything. The garlic bread was stale and unappealing. The pizza, obviously microwaved, was thin and like biting into cardboard, also very burnt and gross looking. Like dogfood. The meat dishes that my husband "enjoyed" were dry, decrepit, and falling apart on there own. The shrimp were overcooked and no sauce was available. The beans and cheese for the nachos had atleast 3 different foods falling into them and looked like a disgusting morphed chicken pot pit of some kind. The corndog was overcooked, hard, smelled awful, and tasted like terror. The pasta looked like it had been there forever and was hard and falling apart. The jalapenos and other peppers were mixed together and so were the variety of dressings. The seafood soufflé had to have been there for atleast a month and was decaying. Now if you like everything at the captain kidd buffet you're in luck, because pretty much everything is mixed together. Oh did I mention the rice was crumbly and falling apart as if it wasn't even cooked. Pasta from the opposite side of the buffet somehow found it's way into the nacho cheese. Now the dessert, thats a great one. The cupcakes tasted like dirt topped with cherry syrup frosting mixed with plastic and tapioca. What looked to be coconut cream pie, not suprisingly happened to be bavarian donut cream filling with whipped cream on top. The brownies were thin and had burned into the pan and were smoking, what little there was, didnt get replaced. The cookies must've came from a box from feburary because they were hard and tasteless
The best part of the buffet by far was the ice cream. We looked to the delicious soft serve ice cream machine to fill our desires, SURPRISE! its frozen yogurt! and gross at that! the toppings were scarce aswell. My husband walked over to a large freezer that looked promising. The large freezer was only filled a quarter of the way with 4 jugs of different hard serve ice cream. He asked the attendant of the food who could barely speak any english at all how to get it. He told him to go around, he did so and didn't want to go behind the counter so he handed the attendant his plate. He gave him a signal and said "ice cream there" and pointed to the soft serve yogurt machine. My husband confused walked around and asked again pointing to the freezer. He decipher the mumbling and signaling to an even more hilarious outcome. The hard ice cream was not a part of the buffet. You have to pay for it!
Absolutely disgusting I grabbed the check early. Our waitress was very nice and sweet and I knew it wasnt her fault so I still gave the buffet an undeserving tip. Her service was great but nowhere near enough to erase the disgust we encountered.
We are now feeling sick.
Save yourself money, time, and intestinal health and run as fast as you can. Yes it's cheap, but mac-donalds is better than that crap.
From the bottom of our hearts, we hope we've have saved you from a life changing experience.
(for the worst!)
Run awayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!
 
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   January 27th 2008
Reviewer: Mansioncreep San Jose, CA     February 14, 2008
We were at Disneyland the first week of February this year.
We were looking for a quick but filling meal our first night in town so we hit Captain Kidd's for the Dinner buffet.
There were 3 of us, My GF, her 12 year old and me.

We ordered the buffet and 3 sodas. By the time we got our first plates of food to the table there were our drinks, place settings, the table had been re-cleaned( it was fine to begin with), and they even brought the boy crayons for his placemat.

The food was excellent. Loved their Rice Pilaf and especially their BBQ Spareribs. The ribs were moist, and mouth wateringly fell off the bone. Fantastic I had 3 helpings. The pizza.. well it was frozen quality, but hey this isn't Shakey's or Pizza hut so there ya go. The mac and cheese was no better or worse than Home Town buffet's.
The Amount of items wasn't all that great but the variety of them was. Chinese food, ribs, burgers, hot dogs, pizza, mexican dishes, chicken in 3 varieties, 2 good soups, and a salad bar. Oh and lets not forgets some of the best Yankee Pot Roast that night I have ever tasted!

We couldn't even get our first sodas done when the waitress appeared with an entire carafe of iced soda for each of us. She and the entire staff were very friendly, quick to help with any request, and they bussed tables faster the Black Angus.

I'm assuming that since this was the off season at DL that these were the full time staff and not the tourist season (summer vacation student) staff so that may be why they were so good to us. Any restaurant's staff goes downhill during the summer months.

Our only complaint was the 3 bucks each for soda.. talk about price gouging( for those not in food service a 12 oz soda costs about 12-16 cents to dispense via fountain). I guess it levels the playing field for the low cost of the buffet. But having went to our local Hometown Buffet 3 days before our trip and having Lousy service, low quality food, slow bussers, and a their having jacked their prices to 11 bucks plus each, This was fantastic.
They got a big tip!

For the cost alone( we spent more on breakfast for 3 at IHOP down the block), but also for the convenience and the great hours of service, we definitely will be visiting them again on our next trip to DL.
 
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   8-11-07
Reviewer: BarbBo Texas     August 11, 2007
We had coupons for free breakfast, but it was up a high staircase and my legs wouldn't make it. We did without. We got coffee and were charged over $5.00 for it.

Today I tried the lunch buffet. What a big mistake. The food is all under yellow lights making it hard to see what the food really looks like. I tried the green salad, dressing, croutons, corn on the cob, cantaloupe, pasta salad, fried chicken, and two leftover sausage from the breakfast buffet. The croutons were coated with a heavy Mexican spice of some kind, the corn was all soggy and mushy, the pasta salad had a tin taste to it, the cantaloupe had no taste at all, and the sausage didn't even taste like ANY kind of meat. Oh and I got a piece of cake with red syrup or something on it that looked good, but it was all hard and stale. I cut up the chicken and mixed it in with the salad. I went back to get more salad, and found the first plate I grabbed was dirty, so I handed it to the server behind the glass panel. I got a second plate, and it, too was dirty. As I was handing this one back to him, I scraped my arm on the bottom of the metal frame of the glass panel ( I think it's called a "sneeze " panel?") The corner gouged my arm and I was bleeding pretty bad. I covered and held it with a napkin and asked if he had a bandaid. He had what looked like a manager come over and lead me to the back of the restaurant to sit down. A few minutes later, another "manager-looking man" came out. I told him I was ok, I just needed a bandaid. I already had a small scrape from a previous scrape a couple days ago, and this incident not only ripped the old one open, but gouged me in two new different places. He looked at my arm, didn't say anything ( I don't think he spoke English) and went and came back with two bandages. One was so tiny it wouldn't even cover either wound. I expected SOMEone to say, "they were sorry it happened" or ""can we help you clean it" or "we'll fix the corner on that panel" or SOMEthing..But nothing was said. Not even an apology.
I asked the waiter for my ticket, paid my ticket and I did go back and get a little more salad, and sat outside til my shuttle van came.
I am VERY disappointed with the horrible tasting food, AND VERY upset at the lack of compassion for someone who gets hurt unnecessarily. If it were my restaurant, I would never let a customer leave the premises feeling unhappy.

 
 

Show All Reviews

Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page