Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 

category image  Main Directory: 

         
     Write Your Own Review Of

Grand Californian Hotel

by ZZZ

  
What is the Rating Scale?
5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0 Outstanding
4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0 Recommended
3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0 OK, but not great
2/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.0 Disappointing
1/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.0 Poor
    
    

Description:
1600 S. Disneyland Drive, Anaheim

    
 

We welcome reviews of Grand Californian Hotel . For the benefit of others, be sure to focus your comments on how the hotel, restaurant or service succeeded (or failed) to live up to your expectations. Please read our review guidelines for more information. Some recent reviews are provided at the bottom of this page.

All reviews should include the following information. Reviews submitted without the required information will be returned. You may copy and paste these points into your review for simplicity. Please feel free to include additional comments:

Hotel Reviews:

Required:
· Date(s) of Stay:
· Type/Class of room (Standard, Concierge, Park View, etc)
· Accommodations Review:
· Rate/Night (for your stay):
Appreciated, but Optional:
· Ease of Disney Park Access:
· Park Shuttle Comments:
· General Restaurant/Lounge Impressions: (Please submit a separate Restaurant Review for more specific comments)
· Pool Description/Comments:

Restaurant Reviews:

Since the only way a more informed decision can be made by future visitors is by a full description, we ask that you provide more than just a sentence or two on the restaurant. Bad example: "The food was great and the waiters very attentive. I'd eat there again." Good example: "I ordered the house specialty (filet mignon) and it was cooked perfectly, my partner ordered the chicken which was rather dry but the orange sauce was good. We had heavenly flan for dessert, and the wait staff was very attentive. Dinner for two including wine was $40-50."

· Date of visit.
· Type of meal. (Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Drinks only, etc)
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Service, Price, Food, Atmosphere.

Ground transportation Services:

Ground transportation companies vary widely in the types of services offered, so please be specific about the details of your experience. Things to mention in your review:

· Date(s) you used the service.
· Destination. (Airport to hotel, airport to cruise port, hotel to theme parks, etc.)
· What type of vehicle. (Sedan, limo, van, shuttle, bus, etc.)
· How many people in your party and rate paid.
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Price, Vehicle Comfort / Cleanliness, Driver

Future visitors will certainly appreciate any extra information you can provide: how long was the trip to your destination; who paid for parking / tolls (you or the driver); were car seats offered or available, and at what cost; did you have to share the service with other customers; were grocery stops included in your trip; how knowledgeable was the driver.

Also, please note that to submit a review you will need to provide your MousePlanet registered MousePad Username and password.

Posting a review is a simple two-step process. First, complete the form below and click "Preview Your Review". This will allow you to see how your comments will appear online. If no changes are required you may then click the "SUBMIT Review" button at the bottom of the following page. Required fields are indicated with an asterisk*.

Your e-mail address is required, so that we may contact you with additional questions. You have two options to create an author byline to use with your review. You may choose to use your MousePad name only, or give both your e-mail address and MousePad user name a combination of these as your byline. You may not submit anonymous reviews.


To submit a review, you must be registered with MousePlanet in our community area: MousePad. You will need to enter your user ID and password below. If you have forgotten your MousePlanet password, click here to have it sent to you. If you have not yet registered, but would like to, click here.

 
MousePad Username:      Not yet registered?
Password:      Forgot your password?

 
The Review:
* 1. How do you rate Grand Californian Hotel?
* 2. Date(s) of the visit being reviewed:
* 3. Type your review in the space below: (100-line maximum)
* 4. Your email address:
5. How would you like to sign your review?
e.g.   Tom Jones
  or Tom Jones (tjones@mouseplanet.com)

Use my MousePad user name only
Use both by MousePad user name and my email address
6. Where in the world are you? (e.g. Phoenix, Arizona):
7. Before forwarding your comments for online display, please take a minute to check over a preview of your review.
IMPORTANT. Click the button below ONCE only to preview your review. Please be patient, processing may take a few seconds.
The Fine Print:
  • By submitting your review you are giving MousePlanet the nonexclusive right to post your review on this web site (and possibly within other media).
  • Your review will be posted within five to seven business days.
  • Submissions that do not follow our review guidelines will not be posted.
Average Reviewer Rating:   4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5  Number of Grand Californian Hotel Reviews: 67
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   6-22-11 to 6-27-11
Reviewer: msjmendoza San Diego, California     September 11, 2011
My wife and I along with our 13 year old daughter and her 13 year old friend stayed in a parkview room for five nights. The room had a balcony overlooking the grizzley rapids river run. We booked the room thru CostCo for four nights and the fifth night was added thru the hotel for $600. We celebrated my birthday along with our daughters friend as both occured during our stay. Everything was perfect in our room and we plan a return trip in April for our daughters birthday.
 
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 14-17, 2011
Reviewer: MouseMom13     May 22, 2011
This hotel is amazing. We normally stay across the street at a Good Neighbor hotel on Harbor Blvd. We decided to stay at the Grand Californian since this is the fewest days we've ever stayed, making it easier to rationalize the $300+/nt. price. We asked for and received a standard room with a double bed for my husband and I and bunk beds for our 7 and 8 year olds. There was plenty of space for the four of us. The room overlooked a courtyard. I love mission style architecture, so the room was wonderful. The kids loved seeing Bambi and Thumper on our shower curtain. Since it was under 70 degrees the length of our stay, the balcony went mostly unused, but the 2 chairs and small table would have been nice in warmer weather.

Check in was easy. The kids received balloons and a signed photo of Mickey and the gang. I didn't realize until later that there was a television of classic Disney shows playing in the lobby.

We spent the first day at the pool. Both kids loved the water slide. The water slide has a jet of water at the base that pushes the kids away from the next kid coming down - well thought out. I loved the comfortable lounge chair cushions; I spent 3 hours straight in that chair before I could talk my kids out of the pool.

I purchased several items at Acorn Gifts that are souveniers of the Grand Californian, including a lovely wall tile of the hotel logo. I enjoyed talking to one cast member about the arts and crafts style of the hotel.

All of our meals were eaten in the park, in Downtown Disney, or onsite at Whitewater Cafe. We loved that we were able to grab quick food at a reasonable (for Disney) price. My kids loved the Mickey waffles for breakfast. My husband and I could have split a biscuit sandwich; they were big. For lunch/dinner, burgers hit the spot.

Access to the parks was easy even with the monorail not in service during our trip. The main gate to Disneyland is an easy walk. We were far away from the elevator, but right next to a stairwell that took us out to the courtyard by the path to Downtown Disney. We used the hotel access to California Adventure. Temperatures were unseasonably cool, so the hotel access allowed us to grab additional layers as needed.

We used the Super Shuttle to travel to/from the Orange County Airport. We always seem to get the overly aggressive drivers. I'm not sure why the Disney Express cost more than the Super Shuttle since it makes more stops.

All of the hotel staff were friendly and accomodating. The only request I made, to not have a room overlooking the parking lot, was promptly granted.

I'm not sure if I can talk my husband into staying at the Grand Californian again because of the price, but the hotel made the trip very special. I think he's become a fan of the onsite hotels, though. We didn't have to deal with even one stoplight to get to the parks, which I appreciated even more than I expected. By the time we return, the Disneyland Hotel remodel will be complete, so I'll try to talk him into that location.
 
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   4/11-4/15 2011
Reviewer: shamblin Saratoga Springs, Utah     April 20, 2011
Usually stay at the Paradise Pier but decided to splurge and stay in the GCH. It was worth it. The room was great. We had a standard with two queen beds for Mom, Dad, and two little girls 9/12. Clean, and ready when we needed it.

Two small cons.
They did not text me when the room was ready on day one, I had to call to confirm. Inconvenient but not tragic.
The TV could only be controlled from the remote and the batteries were dead. Once again inconvenient but not tragic(except to the 9 year old). They replaced the remote by the time we returned from the park.

The convenience of being right next to the park is great for tired bodies. The room was quiet (we were facing the parking lot.) The maid service was pretty good.

No complaints and I would stay there again in a heartbeat if I can scrape up the extra money.
 
 

Show All Reviews

Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page