Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 

Main Directory: 

         
     Write Your Own Review Of

Homewood Suites by Hilton

by ZZZ

  
What is the Rating Scale?
5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0 Outstanding
4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0 Recommended
3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0 OK, but not great
2/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.0 Disappointing
1/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.0 Poor
    
    

Description:
12005 Harbor Blvd, Garden Grove

    
 

We welcome reviews of Homewood Suites by Hilton . For the benefit of others, be sure to focus your comments on how the hotel, restaurant or service succeeded (or failed) to live up to your expectations. Please read our review guidelines for more information. Some recent reviews are provided at the bottom of this page.

All reviews should include the following information. Reviews submitted without the required information will be returned. You may copy and paste these points into your review for simplicity. Please feel free to include additional comments:

Hotel Reviews:

Required:
· Date(s) of Stay:
· Type/Class of room (Standard, Concierge, Park View, etc)
· Accommodations Review:
· Rate/Night (for your stay):
Appreciated, but Optional:
· Ease of Disney Park Access:
· Park Shuttle Comments:
· General Restaurant/Lounge Impressions: (Please submit a separate Restaurant Review for more specific comments)
· Pool Description/Comments:

Restaurant Reviews:

Since the only way a more informed decision can be made by future visitors is by a full description, we ask that you provide more than just a sentence or two on the restaurant. Bad example: "The food was great and the waiters very attentive. I'd eat there again." Good example: "I ordered the house specialty (filet mignon) and it was cooked perfectly, my partner ordered the chicken which was rather dry but the orange sauce was good. We had heavenly flan for dessert, and the wait staff was very attentive. Dinner for two including wine was $40-50."

· Date of visit.
· Type of meal. (Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Drinks only, etc)
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Service, Price, Food, Atmosphere.

Ground transportation Services:

Ground transportation companies vary widely in the types of services offered, so please be specific about the details of your experience. Things to mention in your review:

· Date(s) you used the service.
· Destination. (Airport to hotel, airport to cruise port, hotel to theme parks, etc.)
· What type of vehicle. (Sedan, limo, van, shuttle, bus, etc.)
· How many people in your party and rate paid.
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Price, Vehicle Comfort / Cleanliness, Driver

Future visitors will certainly appreciate any extra information you can provide: how long was the trip to your destination; who paid for parking / tolls (you or the driver); were car seats offered or available, and at what cost; did you have to share the service with other customers; were grocery stops included in your trip; how knowledgeable was the driver.

Also, please note that to submit a review you will need to provide your MousePlanet registered MousePad Username and password.

Posting a review is a simple two-step process. First, complete the form below and click "Preview Your Review". This will allow you to see how your comments will appear online. If no changes are required you may then click the "SUBMIT Review" button at the bottom of the following page. Required fields are indicated with an asterisk*.

Your e-mail address is required, so that we may contact you with additional questions. You have two options to create an author byline to use with your review. You may choose to use your MousePad name only, or give both your e-mail address and MousePad user name a combination of these as your byline. You may not submit anonymous reviews.


To submit a review, you must be registered with MousePlanet in our community area: MousePad. You will need to enter your user ID and password below. If you have forgotten your MousePlanet password, click here to have it sent to you. If you have not yet registered, but would like to, click here.

 
MousePad Username:      Not yet registered?
Password:      Forgot your password?

 
The Review:
* 1. How do you rate Homewood Suites by Hilton?
* 2. Date(s) of the visit being reviewed:
* 3. Type your review in the space below: (100-line maximum)
* 4. Your email address:
5. How would you like to sign your review?
e.g.   Tom Jones
  or Tom Jones (tjones@mouseplanet.com)

Use my MousePad user name only
Use both by MousePad user name and my email address
6. Where in the world are you? (e.g. Phoenix, Arizona):
7. Before forwarding your comments for online display, please take a minute to check over a preview of your review.
IMPORTANT. Click the button below ONCE only to preview your review. Please be patient, processing may take a few seconds.
The Fine Print:
  • By submitting your review you are giving MousePlanet the nonexclusive right to post your review on this web site (and possibly within other media).
  • Your review will be posted within five to seven business days.
  • Submissions that do not follow our review guidelines will not be posted.
Average Reviewer Rating:   4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5  Number of Homewood Suites by Hilton Reviews: 4
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   April 18-23 2006
Reviewer: momuvseven Nevada     April 23, 2006
Just to be fair I will start by sharing what worked for us at this hotel. The rooms are a good size, we had the one bedroom suite with 2 queens, sofa bed and kitchenette. The room was quiet with the exception of some traffic noise and firework noise in the evenings. Otherwise quiet. Big towels and plenty of them. Kitchen is well equipped. Breakfast is provided daily with a good selection, plenty of tables and room to eat. Trays are available to carry back to your room. Dinner is served Monday -Thursday nights and was very conveniant. Swimming pool is one of the nicer ones we have seen in the area with towels provided. We were given a free crib for our five night stay. There is a grocery shopping service that was very conveniant however a bit slow since it took nearly twenty four hours to get our order.
Plenty of parking.

Now the part that didn't work for us. The beds are terrible, absolutely worst we have ever slept on. No way to get comfortable as they are very soft and lumpy, well worn. Pillows are just as bad and we could not find a way to fold them to support our neck in any kind of comfort. Didn't get much sleep at all during our stay.

Room was dirty, first thing I noticed upon entering was the dirty handprints on the tables, then a drip on the dishwasher front and on the wallpaper in the bathroom. None of this was cleaned during our stay. One day we didn't get any maid service at all despite her promise to come back. Housekeeping requests were answered very slowly, took several reminder calls. Same with the front desk, would promise to call back and hours later I would call and finally get an answer.

Rear doors did not always respond to the room key cards. Window was missing from the hall but replaced during our stay. No need for a secure door LOL.

We are far from picky but have had better stays at cheaper properties nearby like the Best Western Raffles and Portifino.

So if you can put up with poor housekeeping and terrible beds you may find the meals and pool to be fair compensation. In our case we will stay elsewhere and make other plans for our meals.
 
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   12/14-12/16/2005
Reviewer: The Mouse Is Back Toluca Lake, CA     December 18, 2005
Since food and beverage prices at the Parks have gone completely out of control, I decided to try a hotel with a kitchen and included meals, to save some money. We took along a bag of groceries, but as it turned out most of them ended up coming home with us.

I paid a rate of $119.00/night, booked through the hotel website. We had a one-bedroom suite that faced DLR. Everything was spotlessly clean and so comfortable. The staff was absolutely wonderful. There is so much free stuff included at this hotel - free breakfast buffet w/trays to carry up to your room, included scrambled eggs (so-so), bacon or sausage, muffins, bagels, yogurt, fruit, juice, coffee, milk, cereal. Free reception from 5-7 M-F, which is really an evening meal; while we were there they had a pasta bar (freshly made!) w/garlic breadsticks, salad, two kinds of cake, and beverages, and on the second night it was chili dogs, two kinds of chips, salad, cake, and beverages. Free outgoing phone calls, free business center computer use to check e-mail (a charge for photocopies and outgoing faxes). When the business center computer decided not to boot up, the front desk staff let me use one of their office computers to check my e-mail.

There were two TVs with a full range of cable stations. The bathroom and dressing areas were well lit and the tub/shower was very large. Two BIG closets but there could be more drawer space.

The pool/spa area is very large but it was too cold to go swimming this time. There is a nice guest laundry, $1.25 wash and $1.00 dry. The little shop next to the front desk sells laundry supplies, along with snacks and sundry items. There is a Starbuck's a few steps away at the Sheraton Suites. A Target and Walgreen's are right across the street.

We had a great view of the fireworks from our window. Only the low fireworks were blocked by other buildings. I missed hearing the music but didn't miss the crowd one bit!

The ONLY real complaint I have is not about the hotel, but the ART. There is absolutely no excuse for the fact that they have not increased the number of trollies at busier times. On Wed. and Thurs., it was no problem, but on Fri. it was so packed that the aisle was full and people had to get off in order to let others off at their hotel stop. The driver told me that he was covering two routes because another driver was on a break. Extremely poor planning on the part of ART. The front desk told me that this has been a consistent problem and no matter how much they and other hotels have complained, nothing has been done to remedy the problem. If you have a car you'd be better off driving to DLR.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, especially families. Not only is there the Target, but the hotel will go grocery shopping for you - no fee for the service, you just pay for your groceries.

Check-in time is 3:00 p.m., check-out is noon (an hour later than most hotels in the area). Parking is free and there are plenty of spaces.

The hotel is NOT within walking distance, so plan on either driving or taking the shuttle (or even the Orange County bus line, which has a stop directly across the street).

We will definitely be going back to the Homewood Suites on our next vacation.
 
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Nov 20-26, 2005
Reviewer: msgmg68 Stockton, California     December 01, 2005
My family of 5 really enjoyed this hotel. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Check in was a breeze, with no problems. I had gotten a travel agent rate of $69.50 per night and we had a 1 bedroom suite. In the suite, there were two queen beds in the bedroom with a door that closed between the living and bedroom. In the living room there was a pull out sofa bed, chair, coffee table, TV and a kitchenette. The kitchenette had a table with two chairs, full size refrigerator, two burner stovetop, microwave, sink and dishwasher. Plates, cups, utensils, and pots and pans were also included.
This park is about 1 mile from Disneyland, so not walking distance. The first two days, while we were without our vehicle, we took the ART shuttle ($3 per person/per day). Because of it being a very busy time for Disneyland, the hotels were packed with people, so we encountered shuttles becoming full and us having to wait for the next shuttle, which came around every 20 minutes. The rest of our family arrived on the late evening of our second day with a minivan, so the rest of the trip we drove in.
The hotel and our room was spotless! The maids were pleasant and housekeeping brought us an extra blanket within 3 minutes of us requesting it.
They offer a full breakfast in the am (eggs, potatoes, toast, fruit, yogurt, juices, coffee, bagels/toast, muffins, sausage, and one day pancakes instead of eggs). The food was very good and filling. Mon-Thurs. they offer a "light dinner". It was anything BUT light! To us, it was a full dinner. Every night there is a salad bar, chips/salsa, free beer/wine/soda. There is also a hot item included which they alternate. While we were there they had enchiladas/refried beans, sloppy joes, BBQ beef sandwiches, and turkey/mashed potatoes.
I will definitely stay at this hotel in the future. The "normal" rates for this hotel begin at about $129 and even at that rate, I would return. It saved us a lot of money since we didn't have to buy breakfast or dinner.
One drawback....the elevator is slow, but we took the stairs.
You won't be sorry staying at the Homewood Suites!
 
 

Show All Reviews

Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page