Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 

Main Directory: 

         
     Write Your Own Review Of

Hotel Menage (formerly Holiday Inn at the Park)

by ZZZ

  
What is the Rating Scale?
5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0 Outstanding
4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0 Recommended
3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0 OK, but not great
2/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.0 Disappointing
1/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.0 Poor
    
    

Description:
1221 S. Harbor Blvd, Anaheim

    
 

We welcome reviews of Hotel Menage (formerly Holiday Inn at the Park) . For the benefit of others, be sure to focus your comments on how the hotel, restaurant or service succeeded (or failed) to live up to your expectations. Please read our review guidelines for more information. Some recent reviews are provided at the bottom of this page.

All reviews should include the following information. Reviews submitted without the required information will be returned. You may copy and paste these points into your review for simplicity. Please feel free to include additional comments:

Hotel Reviews:

Required:
· Date(s) of Stay:
· Type/Class of room (Standard, Concierge, Park View, etc)
· Accommodations Review:
· Rate/Night (for your stay):
Appreciated, but Optional:
· Ease of Disney Park Access:
· Park Shuttle Comments:
· General Restaurant/Lounge Impressions: (Please submit a separate Restaurant Review for more specific comments)
· Pool Description/Comments:

Restaurant Reviews:

Since the only way a more informed decision can be made by future visitors is by a full description, we ask that you provide more than just a sentence or two on the restaurant. Bad example: "The food was great and the waiters very attentive. I'd eat there again." Good example: "I ordered the house specialty (filet mignon) and it was cooked perfectly, my partner ordered the chicken which was rather dry but the orange sauce was good. We had heavenly flan for dessert, and the wait staff was very attentive. Dinner for two including wine was $40-50."

· Date of visit.
· Type of meal. (Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Drinks only, etc)
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Service, Price, Food, Atmosphere.

Ground transportation Services:

Ground transportation companies vary widely in the types of services offered, so please be specific about the details of your experience. Things to mention in your review:

· Date(s) you used the service.
· Destination. (Airport to hotel, airport to cruise port, hotel to theme parks, etc.)
· What type of vehicle. (Sedan, limo, van, shuttle, bus, etc.)
· How many people in your party and rate paid.
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Price, Vehicle Comfort / Cleanliness, Driver

Future visitors will certainly appreciate any extra information you can provide: how long was the trip to your destination; who paid for parking / tolls (you or the driver); were car seats offered or available, and at what cost; did you have to share the service with other customers; were grocery stops included in your trip; how knowledgeable was the driver.

Also, please note that to submit a review you will need to provide your MousePlanet registered MousePad Username and password.

Posting a review is a simple two-step process. First, complete the form below and click "Preview Your Review". This will allow you to see how your comments will appear online. If no changes are required you may then click the "SUBMIT Review" button at the bottom of the following page. Required fields are indicated with an asterisk*.

Your e-mail address is required, so that we may contact you with additional questions. You have two options to create an author byline to use with your review. You may choose to use your MousePad name only, or give both your e-mail address and MousePad user name a combination of these as your byline. You may not submit anonymous reviews.


To submit a review, you must be registered with MousePlanet in our community area: MousePad. You will need to enter your user ID and password below. If you have forgotten your MousePlanet password, click here to have it sent to you. If you have not yet registered, but would like to, click here.

 
MousePad Username:      Not yet registered?
Password:      Forgot your password?

 
The Review:
* 1. How do you rate Hotel Menage (formerly Holiday Inn at the Park)?
* 2. Date(s) of the visit being reviewed:
* 3. Type your review in the space below: (100-line maximum)
* 4. Your email address:
5. How would you like to sign your review?
e.g.   Tom Jones
  or Tom Jones (tjones@mouseplanet.com)

Use my MousePad user name only
Use both by MousePad user name and my email address
6. Where in the world are you? (e.g. Phoenix, Arizona):
7. Before forwarding your comments for online display, please take a minute to check over a preview of your review.
IMPORTANT. Click the button below ONCE only to preview your review. Please be patient, processing may take a few seconds.
The Fine Print:
  • By submitting your review you are giving MousePlanet the nonexclusive right to post your review on this web site (and possibly within other media).
  • Your review will be posted within five to seven business days.
  • Submissions that do not follow our review guidelines will not be posted.
Average Reviewer Rating:   3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5  Number of Hotel Menage (formerly Holiday Inn at the Park) Reviews: 1
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   September 14 & 15, 2007
Reviewer: Andrew (andrew@mouseplanet.com) Palo Alto, CA     September 28, 2007
Our rate was the lowest publicly available, $112/night. We'd previously stayed at this property during its remodel in late 2006. We arrived at 1:00am Saturday morning and found the close-in parking we'd used last December blocked off for valet, but there was no valet on duty nor signage indicating parking rates. Check-in was easy, and we were given a room on the 5th (top) floor.

The lobby is, for want of a better word, unusual. Exposed, painted, textured concrete floor, gauzy floor-to-ceiling drapes, interesting corner chairs. It's very dark at all hours. There's a small lounge/bar and a restaurant, neither of which we patronized during this visit. The elevators have not been upgraded or even remodeled since the Holiday Inn days.

Our room was on the freeway/Disneyland side, and while freeway noise was quite loud on the exterior walkway it was almost completely eliminated once we shut the door. As promised, the room was in very good condition and featured new furniture, including a new bed and flat-panel TV. The bed, a prime source of annoyance and in fact pain on our last trip, was quite comfortable and there were even enough pillows. Furniture and decor are pretty much just as they appear on the hotel's Web site. While the sink area was new, the W.C. (toilet/shower room) hadn't been noticeably touched in the remodel with the exception of a new shower head/handheld shower unit. The overall impression we got was of a remodel 90% completed, with little patches of spackle on the walls where holes had been patched but not painted and final adjustments still to be made.

The location of the hotel, on the southeast corner of Harbor and Ball, makes it tricky to actually get to the Resort. If you don't want to take ART or walk, you can either exit on Ball Road, carefully timing your exit from the parking lot to allow you to cross six lanes of eastbound traffic and get into the leftmost left-turn lane, and make a U-turn on Ball. Then take Ball to Disneyland Drive, turn left and enter the parking structure. OR...
Exit on Harbor, turning right and proceeding all the way down to Katella. Turn right on Katella, right on Disneyland Drive and then use the Magic Way entrance to the parking structure, if it's open. If not, continue on Magic Way, turn right on Walnut, right on Ball and right again on Disneyland Drive and into the structure. The first option is quicker if hairier.

On Saturday afternoon, we took a break from the park and came back to the hotel to try out the pool and hot tub. This was definitely the highlight of our stay. The pool and hot tub, along with the surrounding patio area, have been extensively remodeled and updated and look just beautiful. The only negative is the solid wall of medium brown staring down at you--we agreed the walls could use some punches of color.

On Sunday morning, we could have checked out via the television but I found a nasty surprise when I reviewed our folio: a $10/day charge for self parking. Remember, there was no parking rate sign when we arrived, and nothing in the check-in paperwork saying anything about a parking fee. This effectively takes the rate from $112 to $122; more than competing hotels for that weekend.

We went down to the desk to check out in person and ask about the parking fee. And here is where the confusing, inconsistent little details about the weekend came into focus. According to the duty manager, the hotel owners (Casa Resorts) are "trying to make the Hotel Menage a five star hotel, and all five-star hotels charge for parking." That's an exact quote. We did not feel like arguing the point and were running a little late anyway, so we settled our bill and left.

However... sure, five-star hotels charge for parking. They also have modern high-speed elevators, room service, real cream for the in-room coffee, real coffee for the in-room coffee, toilets that don't keep running until you jiggle the handle and a multitude of other amenities that are just not there at the Hotel Menage. The place feels like what it is: a decent, comfortable if unexceptional hotel with a lot of HGTV on top. It's not a five-star resort and, with its good if not great location, doesn't need to be one.

So, would we stay there again? We would not make a special effort to stay there, but we would consider it if the rate is competitive with other area properties. I am sure that's not the reaction the hotel owners are hoping for, but that's what they get from me.

Note: This review has been shortened from its original form to fit the MousePlanet review system. You can read the original here: http://mousepad.mouseplanet.com/showthread.php?p=1131718#post1131718
 
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page