Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 

Main Directory: 

         
     Write Your Own Review Of

Red Lion Hotel (formerly Radisson Maingate Anaheim)

by MousePlanet

  
What is the Rating Scale?
5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0 Outstanding
4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0 Recommended
3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0 OK, but not great
2/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.0 Disappointing
1/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.0 Poor
    
    

Description:
1850 S. Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim

    
 

We welcome reviews of Red Lion Hotel (formerly Radisson Maingate Anaheim) . For the benefit of others, be sure to focus your comments on how the hotel, restaurant or service succeeded (or failed) to live up to your expectations. Please read our review guidelines for more information. Some recent reviews are provided at the bottom of this page.

All reviews should include the following information. Reviews submitted without the required information will be returned. You may copy and paste these points into your review for simplicity. Please feel free to include additional comments:

Hotel Reviews:

Required:
· Date(s) of Stay:
· Type/Class of room (Standard, Concierge, Park View, etc)
· Accommodations Review:
· Rate/Night (for your stay):
Appreciated, but Optional:
· Ease of Disney Park Access:
· Park Shuttle Comments:
· General Restaurant/Lounge Impressions: (Please submit a separate Restaurant Review for more specific comments)
· Pool Description/Comments:

Restaurant Reviews:

Since the only way a more informed decision can be made by future visitors is by a full description, we ask that you provide more than just a sentence or two on the restaurant. Bad example: "The food was great and the waiters very attentive. I'd eat there again." Good example: "I ordered the house specialty (filet mignon) and it was cooked perfectly, my partner ordered the chicken which was rather dry but the orange sauce was good. We had heavenly flan for dessert, and the wait staff was very attentive. Dinner for two including wine was $40-50."

· Date of visit.
· Type of meal. (Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Drinks only, etc)
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Service, Price, Food, Atmosphere.

Ground transportation Services:

Ground transportation companies vary widely in the types of services offered, so please be specific about the details of your experience. Things to mention in your review:

· Date(s) you used the service.
· Destination. (Airport to hotel, airport to cruise port, hotel to theme parks, etc.)
· What type of vehicle. (Sedan, limo, van, shuttle, bus, etc.)
· How many people in your party and rate paid.
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Price, Vehicle Comfort / Cleanliness, Driver

Future visitors will certainly appreciate any extra information you can provide: how long was the trip to your destination; who paid for parking / tolls (you or the driver); were car seats offered or available, and at what cost; did you have to share the service with other customers; were grocery stops included in your trip; how knowledgeable was the driver.

Also, please note that to submit a review you will need to provide your MousePlanet registered MousePad Username and password.

Posting a review is a simple two-step process. First, complete the form below and click "Preview Your Review". This will allow you to see how your comments will appear online. If no changes are required you may then click the "SUBMIT Review" button at the bottom of the following page. Required fields are indicated with an asterisk*.

Your e-mail address is required, so that we may contact you with additional questions. You have two options to create an author byline to use with your review. You may choose to use your MousePad name only, or give both your e-mail address and MousePad user name a combination of these as your byline. You may not submit anonymous reviews.


To submit a review, you must be registered with MousePlanet in our community area: MousePad. You will need to enter your user ID and password below. If you have forgotten your MousePlanet password, click here to have it sent to you. If you have not yet registered, but would like to, click here.

 
MousePad Username:      Not yet registered?
Password:      Forgot your password?

 
The Review:
* 1. How do you rate Red Lion Hotel (formerly Radisson Maingate Anaheim)?
* 2. Date(s) of the visit being reviewed:
* 3. Type your review in the space below: (100-line maximum)
* 4. Your email address:
5. How would you like to sign your review?
e.g.   Tom Jones
  or Tom Jones (tjones@mouseplanet.com)

Use my MousePad user name only
Use both by MousePad user name and my email address
6. Where in the world are you? (e.g. Phoenix, Arizona):
7. Before forwarding your comments for online display, please take a minute to check over a preview of your review.
IMPORTANT. Click the button below ONCE only to preview your review. Please be patient, processing may take a few seconds.
The Fine Print:
  • By submitting your review you are giving MousePlanet the nonexclusive right to post your review on this web site (and possibly within other media).
  • Your review will be posted within five to seven business days.
  • Submissions that do not follow our review guidelines will not be posted.
Average Reviewer Rating:   4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5  Number of Red Lion Hotel (formerly Radisson Maingate Anaheim) Reviews: 1
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   February 24, 2011
Reviewer: bennette Irvine, CA     February 28, 2011
Class of Room: Handicapped Accessible Standard King

Rate/Night: I booked this room using Pricelines name your own price for a 3.5 star in this. I believe the rate was $45 plus city tax ($13 or so). On site added $14 to the bill and there was a $1.17 cent resort. So let us say the total rate, with parking, was $73.

I noticed they are running a special through March 31, 2011 for $99 a night that includes free breakfast and parking. Seemed like a pretty good deal for four (or maybe even five--I couldn't tell if there was a maximum number of free kids to paying adults).

I was here for a dinner at Napa Rose in the Grand. The hotel is in the convention center area and you have the option of walking, taking the ART, or popping over to the Toy Story lot behind the hotel and taking their bus. I personally took a taxi to dinner; it was $5.55 plus tip. In nice weather, I'd probably walk; I'd say its a bit over a half mile.

They have a small gift store that sells a little bit of everything.

There is a restaurant that serves casual food and a full hot breakfast buffet for $10 (kids under ten eat free). A bar was advertised but I didn't visit it. They have limited room service in the evening. There is also something they advertise as a 24-hour bistro that sells food that is a bit more substantial than what the gift shop offers. I saw ice cream, pop corn, drinks, sandwiches and salads. Coffee is available here in the mornings. I don't think I would call it a bistro but it's a nice option to have if you're starving and cant leave the hotel.

They have a concierge service that will help with Disney tickets, guiding you to restaurants, etc. They are close to the Target, a few small stores in the adjacent strip malls, and within walking distance of all the GardenWalk stores, shops, and theatre.

The lobby was clean and smart. The staff were professional and my check in was rapid. I had several questions that were answered efficiently and politely. A $40 hold was placed on my debit card for incidentals. They advertise free wi-fi but as my room was wired for internet, I think the table and chairs in this area and perhaps the meeting rooms may be the only actual wi-fi areas.

The hotel is split into two buildings and my room was in the South building. The South building is locked 24-hours a day, so you have to use your room key to enter.

While the hotel has been recently redone with fairly nice materials, the halls to the rooms did seem the tiniest bit dark and it was clear that the hotel had been through a makeover or two.

My king room was on the fifth floor and seemed quite large. The bed was huge and triple sheeted. I found the mattress very comfortable.

The room itself was nicely decorated with lots of granite, tile, and touches of leather. Not as nice as a newly redone Hilton or Hyatt but not bad at all. There was plenty of room for a rollaway if you wanted. There was a 37 inch flat screen TV, a nice work desk, and a leather chair and ottoman. The coffee service included Wolfgang Puck Coffee and Numi Tea. The bathroom had limited toiletries from Bath and Body Works. Everything was clean and there were plenty of nice towels.

There isn't room here for all the details but I found the handicapped accessibility of this room to be very well executed.

I didn't visit the pool (too cold) but from the pictures it appeared large if not terribly exciting. There is a nice looking fire pit and lounges next to it.

Things I didn't entirely care for:

The hotel is non smoking but my room was a little stuffy upon entering.

My room was on the street side of the South building, on Harbor and had some traffic noise. I'd opt for the other side of this building if possible or the North building, which runs perpendicular to the street. Also the blackout curtains didn't black out one hundred percent of the street light, even with the clips I carry for this purpose.

There was also some kind of low continuous room noise I could not figure out. Many people would have found it nice white noise for sleeping; not me.

I took care of these issues with my standard travel kit of clips, sleeping mask, ear plugs, and Febreeze and slept like a rock. I think most people would have no problem with most of these issues but I am a very fussy sleeper.

I'm not sure if it's this way in all the rooms or whether it was due to the handicapped setup but storage was a bit limited. There WAS a nice long granite bench could hold several suitcases, but I personally prefer to put my things in a drawer and the suitcase out of site Bathroom storage was limited as well but I think this is the norm with an accessible sink.

The hotel is pet friendly to small animals with a minimal deposit, waived if you are a member of their (free) rewards program.

I'd stay here again.
 
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page