Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 

Main Directory: 

         
     Write Your Own Review Of

Paradise Pier Hotel - Yamabuki

by ZZZ

  
What is the Rating Scale?
5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0 Outstanding
4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0 Recommended
3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0 OK, but not great
2/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.0 Disappointing
1/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.0 Poor
    
    

Description:
The award-winning restaurant serves traditional Japanese cuisine for lunch and dinner. Yamabuki also offers a sushi bar, and kid's menu.

    
 

We welcome reviews of Paradise Pier Hotel - Yamabuki . For the benefit of others, be sure to focus your comments on how the hotel, restaurant or service succeeded (or failed) to live up to your expectations. Please read our review guidelines for more information. Some recent reviews are provided at the bottom of this page.

All reviews should include the following information. Reviews submitted without the required information will be returned. You may copy and paste these points into your review for simplicity. Please feel free to include additional comments:

Hotel Reviews:

Required:
· Date(s) of Stay:
· Type/Class of room (Standard, Concierge, Park View, etc)
· Accommodations Review:
· Rate/Night (for your stay):
Appreciated, but Optional:
· Ease of Disney Park Access:
· Park Shuttle Comments:
· General Restaurant/Lounge Impressions: (Please submit a separate Restaurant Review for more specific comments)
· Pool Description/Comments:

Restaurant Reviews:

Since the only way a more informed decision can be made by future visitors is by a full description, we ask that you provide more than just a sentence or two on the restaurant. Bad example: "The food was great and the waiters very attentive. I'd eat there again." Good example: "I ordered the house specialty (filet mignon) and it was cooked perfectly, my partner ordered the chicken which was rather dry but the orange sauce was good. We had heavenly flan for dessert, and the wait staff was very attentive. Dinner for two including wine was $40-50."

· Date of visit.
· Type of meal. (Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Drinks only, etc)
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Service, Price, Food, Atmosphere.

Ground transportation Services:

Ground transportation companies vary widely in the types of services offered, so please be specific about the details of your experience. Things to mention in your review:

· Date(s) you used the service.
· Destination. (Airport to hotel, airport to cruise port, hotel to theme parks, etc.)
· What type of vehicle. (Sedan, limo, van, shuttle, bus, etc.)
· How many people in your party and rate paid.
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Price, Vehicle Comfort / Cleanliness, Driver

Future visitors will certainly appreciate any extra information you can provide: how long was the trip to your destination; who paid for parking / tolls (you or the driver); were car seats offered or available, and at what cost; did you have to share the service with other customers; were grocery stops included in your trip; how knowledgeable was the driver.

Also, please note that to submit a review you will need to provide your MousePlanet registered MousePad Username and password.

Posting a review is a simple two-step process. First, complete the form below and click "Preview Your Review". This will allow you to see how your comments will appear online. If no changes are required you may then click the "SUBMIT Review" button at the bottom of the following page. Required fields are indicated with an asterisk*.

Your e-mail address is required, so that we may contact you with additional questions. You have two options to create an author byline to use with your review. You may choose to use your MousePad name only, or give both your e-mail address and MousePad user name a combination of these as your byline. You may not submit anonymous reviews.


To submit a review, you must be registered with MousePlanet in our community area: MousePad. You will need to enter your user ID and password below. If you have forgotten your MousePlanet password, click here to have it sent to you. If you have not yet registered, but would like to, click here.

 
MousePad Username:      Not yet registered?
Password:      Forgot your password?

 
The Review:
* 1. How do you rate Paradise Pier Hotel - Yamabuki?
* 2. Date(s) of the visit being reviewed:
* 3. Type your review in the space below: (100-line maximum)
* 4. Your email address:
5. How would you like to sign your review?
e.g.   Tom Jones
  or Tom Jones (tjones@mouseplanet.com)

Use my MousePad user name only
Use both by MousePad user name and my email address
6. Where in the world are you? (e.g. Phoenix, Arizona):
7. Before forwarding your comments for online display, please take a minute to check over a preview of your review.
IMPORTANT. Click the button below ONCE only to preview your review. Please be patient, processing may take a few seconds.
The Fine Print:
  • By submitting your review you are giving MousePlanet the nonexclusive right to post your review on this web site (and possibly within other media).
  • Your review will be posted within five to seven business days.
  • Submissions that do not follow our review guidelines will not be posted.
Average Reviewer Rating:   3.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 5  Number of Paradise Pier Hotel - Yamabuki Reviews: 7
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 29, 2006
Reviewer: twist1980 Seattle, WA     July 28, 2006
We had a fabulous experience at Yamabuki. We decided to do a lunchtime priority seating reservation as the food was the same, but the prices were much less expensive. The restaurant was almost empty, I think only two to three other tables were occupied the entire time we were there. We are avid sushi eaters and have found ourselves to be quite picky. I chose the crispy rolls after I read a recommendation here on Mouseplanet and I was not disappointed. They were amazing! They also came with Miso soup, which was typical Miso, not bad, but nothing special. My fiancé had teriyaki steak and soft shell crab and his son ordered California rolls. The teriyaki steak was very good, not at all the typical teriyaki you order, but an actual steak strip with teriyaki sauce. We all tasted it and loved it. The California rolls were pretty typical. Again, they were good, but nothing special. We werent fans of the soft-shell crab, but none of us had ever had it before so we have nothing to compare it to.

Our server was fantastic and extremely attentive. She checked in on us often and I was very impressed that she asked our son if he would like a bowl of rice while he was waiting for us to finish. Even more impressive was the fact that we werent charged. They serve orange slices with the bill in lieu of mints.

We had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. It will be a must-do for our future trips. Even for the non-sushi eaters, the teriyaki is worth the visit alone!
 
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 7, 2006
Reviewer: cstephens Southern California     May 07, 2006
We originally had a dinner reservation for 8, but they were very willing to accommodate the change in our reservation to 9. Our reservation was at 5:30, which is when the restaurant opens for dinner. We ended up getting there a little early, before the doors were open, so we sat in the lobby of the Paradise Pier Hotel to wait. We went back at 5:30, at which time the doors were unlocked. We went in and told them about our reservation. We waited a couple of minutes as they put our tables together and then we were seated in the main dining room.

Our server then came over and took our drink orders, and the service was terrific all night. They were happy to oblige when we requested two separate checks for our party.

My husband and I had been to the restaurant two times previously, once sitting at the sushi bar and once sitting in the auxiliary dining room, both times for dinner. I found the sushi to be good, but since we have a favorite sushi restaurant, this wasn't a place we'd come back to just for sushi. We thought the sushi prices were a little high, but the annual passholder discount helped a lot.

This time, quite a number of us ordered the beef teriyaki complete dinner. A few others ordered the assorted sushi complete dinners. The complete dinners come with a number of "sides": miso soup, dinner salad (with ginger dressing), shrimp and vegetable tempura, 3 pieces of California roll and white rice. The miso soup had very good flavor and included bits of tofu and and green onions but no seaweed as some other places might have (which disappointed me since I love seaweed but which my husband was happy about since he hates seaweed). The dinner salad was pretty ordinary - the dressing was fairly mild. The tempura (2 pieces of shrimp, 3 pieces of vegetable) was quite good, very crispy, and the vegetables included sweet potato, eggplant and green bean. The California roll was very ordinary, but then I'm not a particular fan of California roll. The beef teriyaki was quite tasty. When you order, they ask how you want the meat cooked, and my order of medium came out so that the inside was still nice and pink. I'm not a fan of too much or too sweet teriyaki sauce, so I liked that the flavor of the teriyaki sauce was not overpowering, and there wasn't too much on the beef. I particularly enjoyed the numerous small sides as it meant you had the opportunity to taste a variety of things.

A few of us ordered appetizers, and everyone seemed to enjoy them. I had a piece of tuna sashimi, and it was very good quality. My husband said all of the sashimi he had in his appetizer (7 pieces total, consisting of tuna, salmon and yellowtail) was quite good. I ordered the oshinko (marinated vegetables) appetizer, and while $6.50 initially seemed a little expensive, I changed my mind after it arrived. It had a very good variety of vegetables (including carrots, mushrooms, cabbage, cucumber and daikon), and it was a very good sized serving as well. I also had one order of sushi, a clam which I haven't been able to find elsewhere and can't remember the name of, and it was very tasty and very crunchy. The sushi/sashimi dishes came with only very small amounts of ginger, but when we asked the server for more, more was soon brought to us.

For dessert, I had the plum wine ice cream, which was very good, even though it was more plum ice cream as opposed to plum wine ice cream. I had wanted the ginger ice cream but was told they were out and that they seldom actually get any in, so I'm not sure why they don't just take it off the menu. Others in our group had the mochi (they have two flavors available - mango and green tea, and you can either choose one flavor or a mixture of both), and they said it was quite good. I love mochi myself but had decided on the ice cream instead.

I was happy to see that menu items included shabu shabu and udon, so we're planning on returning at some point to try those. I was also pleasantly surprised to see that while the kid's menu included "safe" items like chicken nuggets, it also included selections like chicken teriyaki, beef teriyaki, tempura, soba and udon.

As good as the food was, the service was excellent as well. Each of our "sides" was brought to us separately, so while there was the issue of having enough space to have that many plates/bowls in front of you, it also meant our server had to return to our table numerous times in bringing out each dish. She was gracious and polite and friendly each time, and as we finished dishes, the empty plates/bowls were quickly taken away. Our drink glasses were also constantly being refilled, and any specific requests we had were timely accommodated. The wait staff was attentive but never intrusive and never interrupted our conversations.

The prices are not inexpensive, but you definitely get value for the price you pay. The restaurant is nicely decorated and fairly quiet. As we were leaving, the staff and the hostess and manager thanked us for coming and hoped to see us again.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this restaurant for anyone who likes Japanese food and those who might be interested in trying something they've never had before.
 
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   April 17th, 2006
Reviewer: DisneySeaFan     April 17, 2006
As a Japanese American, I am extremely proud to tell you about this restaurant. It is perhaps the most authentic Japanese restaurant I have ever seen in the U.S. no joke. The waiting area has stylish low tables and a bar, just like a modern Tokyo restaurant. The staff is almost entirely Japanese and lots of Japanese guests eat there. There was a Japanese couple talking to the hilarious bar tender about how they came here and were happy to see them serve Sapporo Beer since they work for the company and there is less and less of it served. We were seated pretty promptly. We were attended to very quickly and kindly and our food was served very fast. The food was not only authentic but outstanding. The Sashimi served before the complete dinners was honestly some of the best I've ever had, and I've had a lot. Perfect texture. I had the nigiri dinner and everything was very good. It was served about 3 minutes after everyone else, no big deal. I tried the Udon and Tempura as well and they were excellent. This is easily one of the best restaurants at the resort. It rivals the Blue Bayou as my favorite. It is the best Japanese food I've had in the U.S. for sure. It is as close to Japan as you can get so try it!
 
 

Show All Reviews

Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page