Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 

Main Directory: 

         
     Write Your Own Review Of

Animal Kingdom Lodge

by ZZZ

  
What is the Rating Scale?
5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0 Outstanding
4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0 Recommended
3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0 OK, but not great
2/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.0 Disappointing
1/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.0 Poor
    
    

Description:
2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista

    
 

We welcome reviews of Animal Kingdom Lodge . For the benefit of others, be sure to focus your comments on how the hotel, restaurant or service succeeded (or failed) to live up to your expectations. Please read our review guidelines for more information. Some recent reviews are provided at the bottom of this page.

All reviews should include the following information. Reviews submitted without the required information will be returned. You may copy and paste these points into your review for simplicity. Please feel free to include additional comments:

Hotel Reviews:

Required:
· Date(s) of Stay:
· Type/Class of room (Standard, Concierge, Park View, etc)
· Accommodations Review:
· Rate/Night (for your stay):
Appreciated, but Optional:
· Ease of Disney Park Access:
· Park Shuttle Comments:
· General Restaurant/Lounge Impressions: (Please submit a separate Restaurant Review for more specific comments)
· Pool Description/Comments:

Restaurant Reviews:

Since the only way a more informed decision can be made by future visitors is by a full description, we ask that you provide more than just a sentence or two on the restaurant. Bad example: "The food was great and the waiters very attentive. I'd eat there again." Good example: "I ordered the house specialty (filet mignon) and it was cooked perfectly, my partner ordered the chicken which was rather dry but the orange sauce was good. We had heavenly flan for dessert, and the wait staff was very attentive. Dinner for two including wine was $40-50."

· Date of visit.
· Type of meal. (Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Drinks only, etc)
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Service, Price, Food, Atmosphere.

Ground transportation Services:

Ground transportation companies vary widely in the types of services offered, so please be specific about the details of your experience. Things to mention in your review:

· Date(s) you used the service.
· Destination. (Airport to hotel, airport to cruise port, hotel to theme parks, etc.)
· What type of vehicle. (Sedan, limo, van, shuttle, bus, etc.)
· How many people in your party and rate paid.
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Price, Vehicle Comfort / Cleanliness, Driver

Future visitors will certainly appreciate any extra information you can provide: how long was the trip to your destination; who paid for parking / tolls (you or the driver); were car seats offered or available, and at what cost; did you have to share the service with other customers; were grocery stops included in your trip; how knowledgeable was the driver.

Also, please note that to submit a review you will need to provide your MousePlanet registered MousePad Username and password.

Posting a review is a simple two-step process. First, complete the form below and click "Preview Your Review". This will allow you to see how your comments will appear online. If no changes are required you may then click the "SUBMIT Review" button at the bottom of the following page. Required fields are indicated with an asterisk*.

Your e-mail address is required, so that we may contact you with additional questions. You have two options to create an author byline to use with your review. You may choose to use your MousePad name only, or give both your e-mail address and MousePad user name a combination of these as your byline. You may not submit anonymous reviews.


To submit a review, you must be registered with MousePlanet in our community area: MousePad. You will need to enter your user ID and password below. If you have forgotten your MousePlanet password, click here to have it sent to you. If you have not yet registered, but would like to, click here.

 
MousePad Username:      Not yet registered?
Password:      Forgot your password?

 
The Review:
* 1. How do you rate Animal Kingdom Lodge?
* 2. Date(s) of the visit being reviewed:
* 3. Type your review in the space below: (100-line maximum)
* 4. Your email address:
5. How would you like to sign your review?
e.g.   Tom Jones
  or Tom Jones (tjones@mouseplanet.com)

Use my MousePad user name only
Use both by MousePad user name and my email address
6. Where in the world are you? (e.g. Phoenix, Arizona):
7. Before forwarding your comments for online display, please take a minute to check over a preview of your review.
IMPORTANT. Click the button below ONCE only to preview your review. Please be patient, processing may take a few seconds.
The Fine Print:
  • By submitting your review you are giving MousePlanet the nonexclusive right to post your review on this web site (and possibly within other media).
  • Your review will be posted within five to seven business days.
  • Submissions that do not follow our review guidelines will not be posted.
Average Reviewer Rating:   4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5  Number of Animal Kingdom Lodge Reviews: 40
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   4-14 Thru 4-10 2010
Reviewer: DJH62179 Columbiana, OH     August 11, 2010
What an awesome time we had on our stay, I have three young daughters and can't imagine a more perfect place for them to enjoy. The atmosphere in the lobby (my favorite part of the trip) was amazing, the smells coming from the two restaurants, Boma and Jiko, make it hard to go anywhere else. The rooms are very nice, however, we booked a bunk bed room and I have to say when we return I don't think we'll get another one. It made the room feel a little small not to mention they are more expensive. By the way, our rates were $240/night on the weekdays and I believe they were around $50 more on the weekend but trust me with all there is to do the price is great. There is a resort we go to a couple times a year close to where we live and the price is more than AKL and there is nothing to do. Any preconceived notions we had about the WDW resort pricing went out the window when we experienced AKL for ourselves.

That being said, I guess with anything there are things you wish were better. As good as Boma smells from the lobby the selection although varied was not the best, I basically focused on a couple of things and was happy but my wife did not like it too much and there wasn't a lot for the kids to choose from. I would still go back just for the atmosphere if nothing else. It is African cuisine after all so it may not suit everyone.

One of our favorite places was the lower level of the lobby in front of the glass wall overlooking the savannahs. My girls loved going up and down the stairs and dancing down below which was never crowded, we usually had the rocking chairs to ourselves. The fire pit outside is also very nice and the veranda overlooking it again is never crowded and a nice place to relax.

I think the Savannah views are a must if you have young children, my girls had breakfast on the balcony every morning and watched the animals and to my surprise all of them come pretty close. We were on the 3rd floor, a little scary for me but it had nice high railings. I never heard a peep from any neighbors which again was something I was worried about given past resort experience outside WDW.

All-in-all it was a near perfect stay, when we go again next year it will be hard not to come back to AKL, I highly recommend it!
 
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   January 29 to February 7, 2010
Reviewer: deefordisney Ontario     February 18, 2010
I just came home from a spectacular 10-day/9-night stay at Animal Kingdom Lodge Jambo House. While I have stayed at and loved resorts in all value, moderate, deluxe, and deluxe villa categories, I have never felt so at home in a resort as I did at Jambo House. From the first moment I walked into the jaw-dropping lobby and ventured outside to the Arusha overlook, to the very last moment when I picked up my suitcases and boarded Magical Express, I felt as comfortable as I do in my own living room.

The lobby at Jambo House is truly amazing. Take a few minutes to walk around and appreciate the art and artistry. The seating is comfortable and the whole lobby area is beautiful. And while I knew that AKL had animals, obviously, there is no way to describe the feeling of walking out the back door of the resort and coming within 20 feet of a giraffe. And red river hogs. And zebras.

I had a standard view room located close to the lobby, and ate at Mara, Boma, and Jiko over the course of the trip. I attended two cultural safaris in the Sunset Lounge, and saw the animals via night vision goggles on the Uzima Savanna one night. Both activities, and any of the many others offered at Jambo and Kidani, are highly recommended.

I remain convinced that the Arusha overlook in the middle of the afternoon (preferably in one of the rocking chairs) is the most peaceful place on earth.

While the lobby, savannas, and general atmosphere at AKL are breathtaking on their own, Animal Kingdom Lodge is made truly special by the people who work there. Animals guides on the savannas, the servers and hosts at Boma and Jiko, the cashiers at Mara and Ziwani Traders, registration and concierge hosts, and the people who stand around to give you directions are all available all the time to answer questions, give you assistance, provide company and conversation, and tell you anything and everything you want to know about the animals. Ive never had so many friendly and open conversations at one place in my life.

The one singular downside of the resort is the relative remoteness, considering AKL is a deluxe resort. All theme parks are serviced by buses, whereas at other deluxes, some destinations are serviced by boat or monorail. The commute is no further than that of the Port Orleans or All Star Resorts, however. Also, buses are only shared with Kidani Village, so it doesnt make numerous stops as some other buses do.

I will also add that I booked a standard view room, as many reviews recommended that animal viewing was perfectly fine from the outlooks and a savanna view room wasnt necessary. While I was fine with my standard view room (I had a view of the front entrance), if and when I travel to AKL again, I will book a savanna view room. The outlooks are fine, but Uzima and Sunset savannas only have small ones so you can only see a piece of each of those. While Arusha has a good size and beautiful overlook, you need a savanna view room to get any expansive view of the savanna or a view further back. Savanna view rooms would also be quieter, as they face the savanna my standard view room was a bit noisier, given that it faced the front entrance and experienced car and bus traffic, etc. My recommendation for future will be savanna view, though the standard view room was just fine.
 
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Early August 2008
Reviewer: Samrain Boston     February 13, 2009
What a wonderful hotel! We "splurged" as it was only the two of us and stayed in a savannah view room on the second floor - and I'm glad we did!

I recommend staying in the 2nd or 3rd building from the lobby (it's a long walk to the buses/lobby otherwise) on the "Kudo" or "Zebra" trails on the 2nd or 3rd floor (there are no rooms on the first floor and the 2nd & 3rd floors offer the best views of the animals) IF you want a savannah view.

Our savannah view was amazing and we were able to see such a variety of animals - it was great to start the day sitting on the balcony, drinking a cup of coffee and watching all the animals. The rooms were well themed, clean and comfortable. Noise wasn't an issue at all - we were actually right near an elevator and directly next to a savannah overlook deck and were never disturbed with noise from either.

The lobby is just beautiful and well themed and the gift shop is large and well stocked. We ate at all three restaurants: the Mara is the quick service restaurant near the pool. Great variety of your traditional burgers/fries but also some amazing African dishes - the stew is amazing! There was also a wide selection of drinks and grab 'n go snacks available, including a nice selection of "healthier options" such as homemade hummus (absolutely delicious!), fruit, and veggies.

We went to Boma, the buffet for breakfast on our last day and I wish we had only gone sooner! What an amazing selection and variety of foods. Again, your traditional breakfast dishes and African dishes which were delicious!

Jiko was amazing, expensive, but a great atmosphere and great food. It was a nice way to relax and I highly recommend the scallops. They're known for the steak over mac 'n cheese which was tasty, but I didn't care for the sauce and it overpowered the dish. Otherwise, I recommend the dish, but next time I would order it "light" on the sauce.

One of the best things about all of the restaurants was that traditional African dishes were offered for those who like to try new foods (ME!) in addition to your traditional American cuisine (which my boyfriend prefers!) so it worked well for both of us.

The pool was okay - we were there in August so it was very very crowded and we had difficulty finding lounge chairs. We didn't spend much time at the pool, but managed to find one of the hot tubs unoccupied frequently - the other is near the pool and always crowded. The game arcade was good - fun games, but on the small side. A few of the games were out of order the entire week we were there and no one was around to help if you had trouble with one of the machines.

The staff were very friendly all around - from the woman who checked us in, to the concierge and valet, the housekeepers - all were absolutely friendly and approachable.

We both absolutely loved this resort and unfortunately only have one complaint: the transportation. There was more than one occasion where we had to wait 45 minutes for a bus, most commonly in the early evening - around 6pm. At one point, there were quite a few people waiting and after an hour, a man went to another bus to see if the driver could radio TTC or another bus to come. We were heading to MK (unfortunately we had dinner reservations) and 3-4 buses came for every other destination, but none for MK. We waited 1.25 hours. It's unfortunate when you leave 2.5 hours before your reservation and you have to run across the park to make it.

Another drawback about transportation is that you are limited to the bus service - including to AK. I still hope that a walkway or ramp to AK will be constructed at some point, but for now, you're limited to bus only. Once on the bus, it's not a long ride at all to any destination.

The transportation wouldn't deter me from returning because the great things far outweigh this, but I would plan extra time when traveling to the parks in the evenings.

All in all, this is one of my favorite resorts and I highly recommend it!
 
 

Show All Reviews

Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page