Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 

Main Directory: 

         
     Write Your Own Review Of

Restaurant Akershus

by ZZZ

  
What is the Rating Scale?
5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0 Outstanding
4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0 Recommended
3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0 OK, but not great
2/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.0 Disappointing
1/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.0 Poor
    
    

Description:
Enjoy a traditional Norwegian buffet with seafood, meat, cheeses and delicious desserts.

    
 

We welcome reviews of Restaurant Akershus . For the benefit of others, be sure to focus your comments on how the hotel, restaurant or service succeeded (or failed) to live up to your expectations. Please read our review guidelines for more information. Some recent reviews are provided at the bottom of this page.

All reviews should include the following information. Reviews submitted without the required information will be returned. You may copy and paste these points into your review for simplicity. Please feel free to include additional comments:

Hotel Reviews:

Required:
· Date(s) of Stay:
· Type/Class of room (Standard, Concierge, Park View, etc)
· Accommodations Review:
· Rate/Night (for your stay):
Appreciated, but Optional:
· Ease of Disney Park Access:
· Park Shuttle Comments:
· General Restaurant/Lounge Impressions: (Please submit a separate Restaurant Review for more specific comments)
· Pool Description/Comments:

Restaurant Reviews:

Since the only way a more informed decision can be made by future visitors is by a full description, we ask that you provide more than just a sentence or two on the restaurant. Bad example: "The food was great and the waiters very attentive. I'd eat there again." Good example: "I ordered the house specialty (filet mignon) and it was cooked perfectly, my partner ordered the chicken which was rather dry but the orange sauce was good. We had heavenly flan for dessert, and the wait staff was very attentive. Dinner for two including wine was $40-50."

· Date of visit.
· Type of meal. (Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Drinks only, etc)
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Service, Price, Food, Atmosphere.

Ground transportation Services:

Ground transportation companies vary widely in the types of services offered, so please be specific about the details of your experience. Things to mention in your review:

· Date(s) you used the service.
· Destination. (Airport to hotel, airport to cruise port, hotel to theme parks, etc.)
· What type of vehicle. (Sedan, limo, van, shuttle, bus, etc.)
· How many people in your party and rate paid.
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Price, Vehicle Comfort / Cleanliness, Driver

Future visitors will certainly appreciate any extra information you can provide: how long was the trip to your destination; who paid for parking / tolls (you or the driver); were car seats offered or available, and at what cost; did you have to share the service with other customers; were grocery stops included in your trip; how knowledgeable was the driver.

Also, please note that to submit a review you will need to provide your MousePlanet registered MousePad Username and password.

Posting a review is a simple two-step process. First, complete the form below and click "Preview Your Review". This will allow you to see how your comments will appear online. If no changes are required you may then click the "SUBMIT Review" button at the bottom of the following page. Required fields are indicated with an asterisk*.

Your e-mail address is required, so that we may contact you with additional questions. You have two options to create an author byline to use with your review. You may choose to use your MousePad name only, or give both your e-mail address and MousePad user name a combination of these as your byline. You may not submit anonymous reviews.


To submit a review, you must be registered with MousePlanet in our community area: MousePad. You will need to enter your user ID and password below. If you have forgotten your MousePlanet password, click here to have it sent to you. If you have not yet registered, but would like to, click here.

 
MousePad Username:      Not yet registered?
Password:      Forgot your password?

 
The Review:
* 1. How do you rate Restaurant Akershus?
* 2. Date(s) of the visit being reviewed:
* 3. Type your review in the space below: (100-line maximum)
* 4. Your email address:
5. How would you like to sign your review?
e.g.   Tom Jones
  or Tom Jones (tjones@mouseplanet.com)

Use my MousePad user name only
Use both by MousePad user name and my email address
6. Where in the world are you? (e.g. Phoenix, Arizona):
7. Before forwarding your comments for online display, please take a minute to check over a preview of your review.
IMPORTANT. Click the button below ONCE only to preview your review. Please be patient, processing may take a few seconds.
The Fine Print:
  • By submitting your review you are giving MousePlanet the nonexclusive right to post your review on this web site (and possibly within other media).
  • Your review will be posted within five to seven business days.
  • Submissions that do not follow our review guidelines will not be posted.
Average Reviewer Rating:   4.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 5  Number of Restaurant Akershus Reviews: 10
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   10/19/06
Reviewer: Elfdeutsch Garden Grove, CA     October 26, 2006
I visited Akershus once in 2001 and was lured back by the quality of the unique Norwegian buffet items. 5 years ago I paid around $12 for a full lunch buffet, not including drinks or dessert. Some changes have occured since then. Prices are now a flat $25 for lunch(yikes) and the entres are prepared to order. The buffet portion is cold and little more than salad with norwegian breads, meats, and cheeses. Hot items are no longer offered with the buffet. Your non-alcoholic drinks and an impressive dessert are now included with the higher price. Be forewarned though, this is a character dining experience now also, so even on an early Thursday afternoon we were burned by expecting little or no wait. We ended up having to come back over 2 hours after we originally wanted to have lunch. Princesses do not seem to fit right in this setting, but whatever, a once sleepy establishment gets a lot more business now. I was a little miffed for having to wait so long because the restaurant was still filled to maybe only 40% capacity. I don't fault disney for implementing a dining option that is extremely popular with those who have young daughters or just have crushes on the princesses. They came around to all tables and humored those who were just there to eat. We still got a few pictures; a tolerable experience if you are not interested in princess character dining.

The unique cold cheeses, tasty breads, meats, and cold casserole items are not worth $25 on their own, but they are good enough that you will fill up too much before your meal if you are not careful. What was different this time was the high quality of the prepared food. I had blackened trout with potato and carrot medley. It was top notch. My fiance had a savory hamburger type veal patty served with delicious cauliflower infused mashed potatos with cheese. You get a dessert sampler that we only ate because we were splurging on vacation, we were that full after the lunch. We had a decadent rice pudding, a textured chocolate mousse, and cheescake topped with lingonberry sauce. All three were outstanding, and plenty for two. The overall lunch portions are fine, especially since the salad bar is a buffet with tasty casseroles, meats, and cheeses to lay you out if you are not a disciplined eater!

The princesses came around to every table and even humor those who are just there for the scandanavian style food. It is probably a good second choice for little girls if the Cinderella restaurant is full. For those looking for their fix of Norwegian food, Akershus still delivers.
 
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Multiple
Reviewer: sparky105t Virginia     May 11, 2004
Restaurant Akershus may very well be the finest dining experience available at EPCOT Center. On each of my visits to WDW, I always make sure that I eat there at least once. The Scandinavian cuisine is authentic and delicious. The waitstaff is among the most attentive in the World Showcase, and dining at Akershus is a pleasure.

The buffet includes a plethora of fish items, as well as traditional meat-and-potatoes dishes like Swedish meatballs, macaroni and cheese, etc. Dishes rotate, so you never have the same experience twice; yet, they always manage to keep my favorites in the rotation.

Dinner can be crowded, but lunch is almost always a small wait. The buffet is essentially the same for lunch and dinner, so can save some money by going early in the day.
 
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Aug. 16/03
Reviewer: Joytotheworld Orillia, Ontario, Canada     October 11, 2003
Lunch Buffet
Excellent service
Good value for what you receive
Food is unique so not to everyone's taste
Atmosphere is lovely

The ambience here is stunning - you truly feel like you're eating in a medieval castle. And the service is phenomenal. Our server was friendly and helpful. This is a great place to celebrate a special occasion. They ended up bringing us free desserts and a special "magic moment" certificate proclaiming this to be an official Disney magic moment. All that being said, the food here is not for everyone. Although my son truly enjoyed all the unusual offerings, I myself did not. The food was just a little too "weird" for me. But it all comes down to a matter of personal taste. It's definitely worth trying the food here to see whether or not you enjoy Norwegian cuisine. It would help if you like seafood. Since I don't, that probably contributed strongly to the factor that the food here was just not my cup of tea. Make sure to try the rice cream. I normally hate rice pudding but this concoction is heavenly and tastes like no rice pudding I have ever come across before.
 
 

Show All Reviews

Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page