Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 

Main Directory: 

         
     Write Your Own Review Of

Fort Wilderness Campground

by ZZZ

  
What is the Rating Scale?
5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0 Outstanding
4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0 Recommended
3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0 OK, but not great
2/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.0 Disappointing
1/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.0 Poor
    
    

Description:
4510 North Fort Wilderness Trail, Lake Buena Vista

    
 

We welcome reviews of Fort Wilderness Campground . For the benefit of others, be sure to focus your comments on how the hotel, restaurant or service succeeded (or failed) to live up to your expectations. Please read our review guidelines for more information. Some recent reviews are provided at the bottom of this page.

All reviews should include the following information. Reviews submitted without the required information will be returned. You may copy and paste these points into your review for simplicity. Please feel free to include additional comments:

Hotel Reviews:

Required:
· Date(s) of Stay:
· Type/Class of room (Standard, Concierge, Park View, etc)
· Accommodations Review:
· Rate/Night (for your stay):
Appreciated, but Optional:
· Ease of Disney Park Access:
· Park Shuttle Comments:
· General Restaurant/Lounge Impressions: (Please submit a separate Restaurant Review for more specific comments)
· Pool Description/Comments:

Restaurant Reviews:

Since the only way a more informed decision can be made by future visitors is by a full description, we ask that you provide more than just a sentence or two on the restaurant. Bad example: "The food was great and the waiters very attentive. I'd eat there again." Good example: "I ordered the house specialty (filet mignon) and it was cooked perfectly, my partner ordered the chicken which was rather dry but the orange sauce was good. We had heavenly flan for dessert, and the wait staff was very attentive. Dinner for two including wine was $40-50."

· Date of visit.
· Type of meal. (Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Drinks only, etc)
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Service, Price, Food, Atmosphere.

Ground transportation Services:

Ground transportation companies vary widely in the types of services offered, so please be specific about the details of your experience. Things to mention in your review:

· Date(s) you used the service.
· Destination. (Airport to hotel, airport to cruise port, hotel to theme parks, etc.)
· What type of vehicle. (Sedan, limo, van, shuttle, bus, etc.)
· How many people in your party and rate paid.
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Price, Vehicle Comfort / Cleanliness, Driver

Future visitors will certainly appreciate any extra information you can provide: how long was the trip to your destination; who paid for parking / tolls (you or the driver); were car seats offered or available, and at what cost; did you have to share the service with other customers; were grocery stops included in your trip; how knowledgeable was the driver.

Also, please note that to submit a review you will need to provide your MousePlanet registered MousePad Username and password.

Posting a review is a simple two-step process. First, complete the form below and click "Preview Your Review". This will allow you to see how your comments will appear online. If no changes are required you may then click the "SUBMIT Review" button at the bottom of the following page. Required fields are indicated with an asterisk*.

Your e-mail address is required, so that we may contact you with additional questions. You have two options to create an author byline to use with your review. You may choose to use your MousePad name only, or give both your e-mail address and MousePad user name a combination of these as your byline. You may not submit anonymous reviews.


To submit a review, you must be registered with MousePlanet in our community area: MousePad. You will need to enter your user ID and password below. If you have forgotten your MousePlanet password, click here to have it sent to you. If you have not yet registered, but would like to, click here.

 
MousePad Username:      Not yet registered?
Password:      Forgot your password?

 
The Review:
* 1. How do you rate Fort Wilderness Campground?
* 2. Date(s) of the visit being reviewed:
* 3. Type your review in the space below: (100-line maximum)
* 4. Your email address:
5. How would you like to sign your review?
e.g.   Tom Jones
  or Tom Jones (tjones@mouseplanet.com)

Use my MousePad user name only
Use both by MousePad user name and my email address
6. Where in the world are you? (e.g. Phoenix, Arizona):
7. Before forwarding your comments for online display, please take a minute to check over a preview of your review.
IMPORTANT. Click the button below ONCE only to preview your review. Please be patient, processing may take a few seconds.
The Fine Print:
  • By submitting your review you are giving MousePlanet the nonexclusive right to post your review on this web site (and possibly within other media).
  • Your review will be posted within five to seven business days.
  • Submissions that do not follow our review guidelines will not be posted.
Average Reviewer Rating:   4.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 5  Number of Fort Wilderness Campground Reviews: 19
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   June 15-20, 2012
Reviewer: Liv4sun Asheville, NC     June 20, 2012
Our first time at Fort Wilderness, after reading alot about it. First impression was not great. You pull in to register, they give your all your paperwork and directions to your campsite and then you are on your own...no escort, no nothing. We found the campsite, whice was nice and large. It was asphalt and sand area with a picnic table, grill and water hose. The restrooms are very clean as is the campgrounds...but disappointed as you never see any Disney workers if yoy hae any questions or need anything! The transportation service was great...buses every 10-15 minutes and the boat to Magic Kingdom. You surely need your bikes or you can rent a golf cart for $60+ a day. The large pool has life guards, but the smaller one doesn't. The prices in the campground at the stores are extremely high, so make sure you get everything you need outside of Disney...for example, a six pack of Coke cans was $8.00 and the marshmallows, graham cracker and hershey bars for the campfire were $10 a package. The camp loops do permit pets for an additional $5 per night and the pets are in special loops. Not sure if I would stay here again as the prices are a bit high for camping!!!
 
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   January 22-29th 2009 & February 20-26th 2010
Reviewer: DisneyfanMae (maemcgarry@yahoo.com) Erie, Pa     April 21, 2011
Fabulous! The first year that we came as a family (2 adults, 10 years, 9 years and 4 years old) we really struggled to find accomidations that could house 5 people and was still affordable. Our "affordable" options were narrowed down to The Cabin's at Fort Wilderness, and Port Orleans. I can't comment on Port Orleans because after just ONE stay at the cabins we are HOOKED!
Check in was smooth and simple, both visits the cast was friendly and efficent, and our cabin was never "musty or dusty" as I have read in other forums. It trully is a get a way facility, and we really love the separated units. Every year we have our children take the full size room in the back, they actually fight over who gets the top bunk! Now Disney could accomodate a little better by adding more dresser space. My husband and I always end up ethier living out of our suit cases, or out of the cupboards next the the (uncomfortable) Murphy bed. We love the set up for the price. We find our selves drawn to the cabin look since we have stayed there.
Our next trip is actually comming up in September, same place!
A must do at least one time is the "Hoopty Do Review" and may I add that if you have young ones try to be the first in line waiting, they will pick you child to be the "bell ringer" and they get a special certificate and everything for it. It really was just one of the many Magical Moments we experienced not only at Disney but at the Fort Wilderness Cabins!
The campfire with Chip and Dale, is awesome, and the pools are also a gem. (I think my kids would prefer to just play on the water slides all day!) One thing about the full sized kitchen with a large fridge and dish washer is that it lacked a pizza pan. They sell frozen pizzas in the out post but didn't suppy a pan. We called the front desk and within moments there was a knock at our door with a Pan! I have nothing negative to say, just give them a try and decide for yourself!
Year three heeeeere we come >>>sqeals with excitement!<<<
 
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   March 15 - 22, 2008
Reviewer: cobaltman Philadelphia     March 30, 2008
My family loves Disneyworld and having vacationed there many times since my childhood, I find Fort Wilderness to be the most varied and accomodating resort on the grounds. My wife and I camped there five years ago and this time joined my father, sister and little nephew in a wilderness cabin.
Our flight was delayed several hours and we arrived at the outpost (check-in desk) around 3:00 am. They had just shut down the computers (why?), but, luckily, my father had instructed them to register us early and set aside our keys. It wasn't a great start, but the circumstances surrounding our arrival weren't Disney's fault. A castmember took us directly to our cabin in a park van. We finally slid into bed by about 3:30. [check in service: 3.5 planets]
The cabin was cute and tidy. We four adults and one peewee ended up being a little oversized for the place, but a couple with kids -up to four small ones- could probably get by comfortably. The bedroom had one modest-sized bed and bunkbeds. Along with a closet, tv and dressing stand, it made for a very practical, comfortable space. The bathroom was attractive and clean. The shower's water pressure was decent and the (excuse me) toilet's power was reminiscent of a jet plane's. Our housekeeper made a fresh toothbrush holder out of a washcloth everyday, which was very nice. The kitchen was small and seemingly efficient. We only made coffee, but could have probably cooked good, simple meals if we had wanted. I would recommend making a simple, eyeball tally of the pans and utensils before beginning a meal, though. There were some there, but it was a very spare collection. Our small living room doubled as our bedroom. The murphy bed was very easy to use, but it was small and uncomfortable. A tv, dining table and small activity table completed the room -along with charming decorations and facsimiles of original concept art for Fort Wilderness and other frontier-style Disney locations. The outside deck was sturdy and plain, and the charcoal grill was of the old-fashioned type, like you may find at your local metropark. Had we not spent nearly every waking hour at the parks, I am sure we would have found the cabin a pleasant place in which to have a barbecue and a few drinks.
[cabins: five planets]
Fort Wilderness campground is a lush and beautiful area that artfully balances real wildlife with cheerful theming. You probably won't see an alligator on the grounds, but armadillos are abundant (exotic to me, at least) and lovely birdsongs can be heard day and night. From the Outpost on down to the Settlement area -including the Meadow Trading Post and swimming pool areas- Disney has created a delightful frontier theme that incorporates recognizable motifs from the old west and the old mid-south. Some of it is very bluegrass Kentucky and some of it is very California goldrush, but the overall effect is seamless and familiar. Any day spent on the grounds offers the chance to relax like at no other Disney resort. Easing into a front-porch wooden rocker or whiling away the time engaged in pleasant conversation around the cracker barrel aren't the kinds of fantasies most people go to Disneyworld to fulfill. Nonetheless, escaping the bustle for a day or two quickly appeals to many visitors, and Fort Wilderness offers an attractive, old-timey way to wind down.
Getting around FW was not difficult. Footpaths lead in all directions and busses take folks the length of the grounds every 15 minutes or so. Fort Wilderness' ferry service to the Magic Kingdom beats any other method of transport in that it offers a wonderful view of the old Treasure Island, Wilderness Lodge, the Contemporary and much of the Magic Kingdom area.
A day spent exploring the Fort Wilderness grounds and participating in the many activities offered there would be a day well spent.
[Fort Wilderness grounds: five planets]

A stay at a Fort Wilderness cabin receives my heartiest recommendation. Please give it strong consideration against booking a hotel room at one of the other Disney resorts. The bustle of a large and noisy lobby has little on the natural tranquility offered throughout the FW grounds. Furthermore, Disneyworld buffs will find the Fort -one of the very early resorts on Disneyworld grounds- less changed from the early 70s than any hotel on the property. They really got it right from the start.
 
 

Show All Reviews

Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page