Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 

Main Directory: 

         
     Write Your Own Review Of

Old Key West Resort

by ZZZ

  
What is the Rating Scale?
5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0 Outstanding
4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0 Recommended
3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0 OK, but not great
2/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.0 Disappointing
1/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.0 Poor
    
    

Description:
1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista

    
 

We welcome reviews of Old Key West Resort . For the benefit of others, be sure to focus your comments on how the hotel, restaurant or service succeeded (or failed) to live up to your expectations. Please read our review guidelines for more information. Some recent reviews are provided at the bottom of this page.

All reviews should include the following information. Reviews submitted without the required information will be returned. You may copy and paste these points into your review for simplicity. Please feel free to include additional comments:

Hotel Reviews:

Required:
· Date(s) of Stay:
· Type/Class of room (Standard, Concierge, Park View, etc)
· Accommodations Review:
· Rate/Night (for your stay):
Appreciated, but Optional:
· Ease of Disney Park Access:
· Park Shuttle Comments:
· General Restaurant/Lounge Impressions: (Please submit a separate Restaurant Review for more specific comments)
· Pool Description/Comments:

Restaurant Reviews:

Since the only way a more informed decision can be made by future visitors is by a full description, we ask that you provide more than just a sentence or two on the restaurant. Bad example: "The food was great and the waiters very attentive. I'd eat there again." Good example: "I ordered the house specialty (filet mignon) and it was cooked perfectly, my partner ordered the chicken which was rather dry but the orange sauce was good. We had heavenly flan for dessert, and the wait staff was very attentive. Dinner for two including wine was $40-50."

· Date of visit.
· Type of meal. (Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Drinks only, etc)
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Service, Price, Food, Atmosphere.

Ground transportation Services:

Ground transportation companies vary widely in the types of services offered, so please be specific about the details of your experience. Things to mention in your review:

· Date(s) you used the service.
· Destination. (Airport to hotel, airport to cruise port, hotel to theme parks, etc.)
· What type of vehicle. (Sedan, limo, van, shuttle, bus, etc.)
· How many people in your party and rate paid.
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Price, Vehicle Comfort / Cleanliness, Driver

Future visitors will certainly appreciate any extra information you can provide: how long was the trip to your destination; who paid for parking / tolls (you or the driver); were car seats offered or available, and at what cost; did you have to share the service with other customers; were grocery stops included in your trip; how knowledgeable was the driver.

Also, please note that to submit a review you will need to provide your MousePlanet registered MousePad Username and password.

Posting a review is a simple two-step process. First, complete the form below and click "Preview Your Review". This will allow you to see how your comments will appear online. If no changes are required you may then click the "SUBMIT Review" button at the bottom of the following page. Required fields are indicated with an asterisk*.

Your e-mail address is required, so that we may contact you with additional questions. You have two options to create an author byline to use with your review. You may choose to use your MousePad name only, or give both your e-mail address and MousePad user name a combination of these as your byline. You may not submit anonymous reviews.


To submit a review, you must be registered with MousePlanet in our community area: MousePad. You will need to enter your user ID and password below. If you have forgotten your MousePlanet password, click here to have it sent to you. If you have not yet registered, but would like to, click here.

 
MousePad Username:      Not yet registered?
Password:      Forgot your password?

 
The Review:
* 1. How do you rate Old Key West Resort?
* 2. Date(s) of the visit being reviewed:
* 3. Type your review in the space below: (100-line maximum)
* 4. Your email address:
5. How would you like to sign your review?
e.g.   Tom Jones
  or Tom Jones (tjones@mouseplanet.com)

Use my MousePad user name only
Use both by MousePad user name and my email address
6. Where in the world are you? (e.g. Phoenix, Arizona):
7. Before forwarding your comments for online display, please take a minute to check over a preview of your review.
IMPORTANT. Click the button below ONCE only to preview your review. Please be patient, processing may take a few seconds.
The Fine Print:
  • By submitting your review you are giving MousePlanet the nonexclusive right to post your review on this web site (and possibly within other media).
  • Your review will be posted within five to seven business days.
  • Submissions that do not follow our review guidelines will not be posted.
Average Reviewer Rating:   4.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 5  Number of Old Key West Resort Reviews: 16
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   October 19-23, 2009
Reviewer: BrandonHRich (brandonhrich@gmail.com) Nashville, Tennessee     December 07, 2009
We are Disney Vacation Club members who had our first experience with the Old Key West Resort this Fall. We have stayed at Saratoga Springs, Villas at Wilderness Lodge, Boardwalk Villas, Animal Kingdom Villas and some off-property hotels in Orlando prior to our OKW experience. First I will speak to the positive aspects of the stay. I thought the theming of the resort was very well done, with many touches that reminded me of its namesake. Our 2-bedroom villa was clean (except for some mold in the guest shower) and it had a very nice view of a waterway and a golf course. Also, I love the close proximity of parking at OKW which is similar to Saratoga Springs. The overall experience and theming at OKW is pleasant, but not awe-inspiring like some of the other Disney resorts. Now to my dislikes. We took friends with us and, to save DVC points, spent our first night in a studio then transferred to a 2-bedroom villa. Our studio was on the ground floor and was perfectly fine. Our 2-bedroom unit was on the third floor. Much to my shock and horror, we discovered that there are no elevators at Old Key West Resort!!! I don't even know how this is legal. Not only did we have to lug our baggage up and down thoses steps upon arrival and departure, but at the end of a long day in the parks I was in no mood to climb to get to my villa. I cannot imagine why nobody with DVC bothered to tell me about the lack of elevators. I was not told this when we bought our DVC points nor when we booked this trip. I was horrified, especially since we had brought friends with us to share in our awesome DVC resort experience. Aditionally, the decor and furnishings in the villas are in desperate need of updating. The beds in both the studio and the 2-bedroom were very hard and uncomfortable. Not firm. Hard, like you would expect from a very cheap, poor quality mattress.
If you like the Key West, Florida theming and if you like the close proximity of parking and if you like the proximity to Downtown Disney and if you want to be on the cheaper end of the villas, and as long as you don't mind climbing steps...then this is a good option. If you are spoiled like I am and want an elevator and a plush bed...book Saratoga Springs or another of the villa options.
 
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 16 - December 23, 2007
Reviewer: sjsjbrook Ontario, Canada     January 27, 2008

The Hotel Theme really doesn't have a Disney look to it. However my entire family loved loved loved the resort.

We were Welcomed home when we entered the lobby. The kids were given flower baloons.

Our room was huge, which was great for our family of five. As we were on vacation, with a 4 and 6 year old, we didn't rush out of our room in the morning. We were able to have a leisurely breakfast every morning. During rest times, they was plenty of room for everyone to do their own thing.

When we went to the parks, we returned to find that the dishes did themselves (I thought that was absolutely wonderful).

They were happy to bring us a bed rail for our 4 year old who did fall out of the high beds several times our first night.

The pool staff were friendly and the pool was warm and a perfect depth for none swimmers. I got to sit on the edge and avoid going in ( it was quite cool the week we were there).

The staff here were very happy, they waved and smiled whenever they past us.

I would definately stay at this resort again.
 
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   6/22/07 - 6/24/07
Reviewer: AndyMan Atlanta, Georgia     June 27, 2007
Our first time at Old Key West resort, we were kept waiting for over 10 minutes at the main entrance gate by a security person in an SUV talking to the entrance person so we decided enough was enough and drove around the guy... he came after us like we had done something wrong... we parked up to go to checkin and got an earful from this guy who said we had to show id to the security person at the front gate, we told him that he had been talking for over 10 minutes and we got tired of waiting so I went around him. I started to get back into the car to go to the gate when he said I could show him my id which I respectfully did... not a good start to the weekend! Woohoo, no lines at the checkin, this was very refreshing!

Luckily we were in building 11 which is actually close to all the amenities, it was only a 150yd walk to get to the ice machine.

The room itself was pleasant and airy altough sharing it with cobwebs was more than a little disappointing for a Disney experience. We were facing the woods and our patio overlooked the Air Conditioning blowers.

The beds in the resort appear to be 2 different sizes, the actual bed frame is about 4 inches larger than the mattress so be careful when skirting around the bed corners because the frame has a tendency to bite (got me 4 times in 3 days and my right knee is black and blue because of this)

The other disappointing thing about the room itself was the chairs (of all things)... the seat cushion seemed to be covered in that plastic table-cloth type material that always manages to cling to the back of your legs. Not the most comfortable seating when trying to login to the internet connection.

The pool(s) were easy to get to as were all of the general amenities and parking outside of the room was easily accessible and not crowded at all.

Transportation to and from all the parks seemed to be frequent and friendly be it bus or water taxi.

Overall, personally, given I could have gotten into Port Orleans for $70/night cheaper... I would say that we should have gone that route BUT we're trying to do all the disney resorts and give an overall feeling for the year.

Think we'll pass on this resort next time around
 
 

Show All Reviews

Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page