Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 

Main Directory: 

         
     Write Your Own Review Of

Polynesian Resort

by ZZZ

  
What is the Rating Scale?
5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0 Outstanding
4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0 Recommended
3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0 OK, but not great
2/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.0 Disappointing
1/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.0 Poor
    
    

Description:
1600 Seven Seas Drive, Lake Buena Vista
On the Resort Monorail Line

    
 

We welcome reviews of Polynesian Resort . For the benefit of others, be sure to focus your comments on how the hotel, restaurant or service succeeded (or failed) to live up to your expectations. Please read our review guidelines for more information. Some recent reviews are provided at the bottom of this page.

All reviews should include the following information. Reviews submitted without the required information will be returned. You may copy and paste these points into your review for simplicity. Please feel free to include additional comments:

Hotel Reviews:

Required:
· Date(s) of Stay:
· Type/Class of room (Standard, Concierge, Park View, etc)
· Accommodations Review:
· Rate/Night (for your stay):
Appreciated, but Optional:
· Ease of Disney Park Access:
· Park Shuttle Comments:
· General Restaurant/Lounge Impressions: (Please submit a separate Restaurant Review for more specific comments)
· Pool Description/Comments:

Restaurant Reviews:

Since the only way a more informed decision can be made by future visitors is by a full description, we ask that you provide more than just a sentence or two on the restaurant. Bad example: "The food was great and the waiters very attentive. I'd eat there again." Good example: "I ordered the house specialty (filet mignon) and it was cooked perfectly, my partner ordered the chicken which was rather dry but the orange sauce was good. We had heavenly flan for dessert, and the wait staff was very attentive. Dinner for two including wine was $40-50."

· Date of visit.
· Type of meal. (Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Drinks only, etc)
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Service, Price, Food, Atmosphere.

Ground transportation Services:

Ground transportation companies vary widely in the types of services offered, so please be specific about the details of your experience. Things to mention in your review:

· Date(s) you used the service.
· Destination. (Airport to hotel, airport to cruise port, hotel to theme parks, etc.)
· What type of vehicle. (Sedan, limo, van, shuttle, bus, etc.)
· How many people in your party and rate paid.
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Price, Vehicle Comfort / Cleanliness, Driver

Future visitors will certainly appreciate any extra information you can provide: how long was the trip to your destination; who paid for parking / tolls (you or the driver); were car seats offered or available, and at what cost; did you have to share the service with other customers; were grocery stops included in your trip; how knowledgeable was the driver.

Also, please note that to submit a review you will need to provide your MousePlanet registered MousePad Username and password.

Posting a review is a simple two-step process. First, complete the form below and click "Preview Your Review". This will allow you to see how your comments will appear online. If no changes are required you may then click the "SUBMIT Review" button at the bottom of the following page. Required fields are indicated with an asterisk*.

Your e-mail address is required, so that we may contact you with additional questions. You have two options to create an author byline to use with your review. You may choose to use your MousePad name only, or give both your e-mail address and MousePad user name a combination of these as your byline. You may not submit anonymous reviews.


To submit a review, you must be registered with MousePlanet in our community area: MousePad. You will need to enter your user ID and password below. If you have forgotten your MousePlanet password, click here to have it sent to you. If you have not yet registered, but would like to, click here.

 
MousePad Username:      Not yet registered?
Password:      Forgot your password?

 
The Review:
* 1. How do you rate Polynesian Resort?
* 2. Date(s) of the visit being reviewed:
* 3. Type your review in the space below: (100-line maximum)
* 4. Your email address:
5. How would you like to sign your review?
e.g.   Tom Jones
  or Tom Jones (tjones@mouseplanet.com)

Use my MousePad user name only
Use both by MousePad user name and my email address
6. Where in the world are you? (e.g. Phoenix, Arizona):
7. Before forwarding your comments for online display, please take a minute to check over a preview of your review.
IMPORTANT. Click the button below ONCE only to preview your review. Please be patient, processing may take a few seconds.
The Fine Print:
  • By submitting your review you are giving MousePlanet the nonexclusive right to post your review on this web site (and possibly within other media).
  • Your review will be posted within five to seven business days.
  • Submissions that do not follow our review guidelines will not be posted.
Average Reviewer Rating:   4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5  Number of Polynesian Resort Reviews: 15
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   September 30-October 2
Reviewer: tinkaparis Massachusetts     October 15, 2011
Standard View Room 3rd Floor, Second building on the right. (forgot the name).
Even though our stay here was very short, we wanted to stay at an original for the 40th Anniversary Weekend.
The theming of the resort was amazing. You definately felt like you were in a different place. With 3 women in a room however, the bathroom set up with the sink and toilet in 1 room, proved to be a challenge. Our view was great and our balcony looked right over the Volcano Pool.
Beds were comfortable but unfortunately the sheets, and covers were not the usual deluxe blankets but rather the same as POFQ. The shampoo was also not the deluxe but rather the teal green bottles from the mods.
While the room was quite large, it didn't feel luxurious like staying in other deluxe resorts, and for what we were paying a night, we expended the same feeling of grandeur and the same service. We were paying close to $400 a night.
The food court was awful. Service was awful and the manager on duty disregarded our food allergy and served an item that contained what we just spoke to him about. It was smaller than our room and we had to order on touch screens so if you couldn't figure out what you wanted, and needed to modify, you were out of luck.
Funny thing we noticed that if you are laying down in bed, you can feel the whole floor shake if someone is walking around the room.
We spoke at length with a CM about our observances and she said that the POLY is slated for deluxe level upgrades in the future.
The pool was not heated so we didn't swim since it was only about 60 degrees in the evening.
The absolute best part about the hotel was the proximity to the TTC and being able to take the monorail to the MK.
I would not stay there again.
 
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   May 28-June 3, 2011
Reviewer: 3colliers Atlanta     June 02, 2011
The resort is beautiful and very relaxing. We had a std. view rm which overlooked quiet pool in Rarotonga bldg and was very happy w/it. Although for a deluxe, we only had one sink in the bathroom! Main pool was nice, bit on small side, they have music and activities offered daily poolside and in the evenings they have campfires and movies on the beach,which was really Awesome!!
The quick service rest. was horrible for breakfast, very limited choice and the portions were tiny and the bacon was horrible and thin! They have changed from french toast on bounty to two f.toast sticks and horrible, cheap bacon!! The lunch was not much better w/very few selections and way overpriced for offerings. Kona Cafe was wonderful, we ate there for breakfast,and dinner and both times were great. I ordered pancakes for breakfast and at dinner ordered the wahoo? fish and it was delicious!! My husband and daughter got asian noodles and tuna for dinner and both were great!! The location can not be beat and is very convienient for monorail use to parks. It was very expensive to stay there and don't know if I pay that much again for the Polynesian. I have stayed @ Contemp,Wilderness,Carribean and will be staying in Oct. @ A.K., but don't think I pay the $$$ for Poly. again, nice location, but nothing really Special.
 
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   August 27, 2008-September 1, 2008
Reviewer: wishiwasthere Old Bridge, New Jersey     September 04, 2008
· Type/Class of room: Garden View
· Rate/Night (for your stay): $300

Parking- We often had to park at the way back of the lot. Luckily we were staying in the Rarotonga building which was the first building from the parking lot which made the walk pretty short.

Room Location- Our room location was fantastic. We were in the Rarotonga building, third floor, Room 3824. When you walked out of the side entrance of the Great Ceremonial house the entrance to our building was about 5 steps away. I have never been so close to a main building/food court/pool before. We were about a 7-10 minute walk to the ticket and transportation center.

Building-I highly recommend requesting the Rarotonga building if you intend to stay at the Polynesian. I also recommend requesting a balcony floor because the first floor only has a patio and I dont think the view is that great. If you are on the first floor you do get the advantage of not having to walk up stair cases or take an elevator, but the view is not as great and if it rains a lot you just get a lot of puddles around your patio. We had third floor and we were on the same level as the monorail so it was great to just sit and watch it go by.

Room-There was more than enough room for 4 adults. First of all you have six drawers and two closets for your clothing. One of the closets has two rods and the other closet has one rod, a few shelves, and the safe.

In the bathroom there was also a ton of space too. We often pack an over-the-door plastic shoe hanger to store our stuff in while at the hotel. We didnt even need it this vacation. We had one sink and there was a shelf above the sink and then all the area under the shelf. Then underneath the sink there were two shelves on each side. The only downside to the bathroom was that compared to the Moderates and Values the bathroom is all in one. We like the door separating the sink area from the toilet and shower. One person can shower while one person can get ready. Also, the shower head is meant for someone less than 5'5". I am around 5'7" and my face was above the shower head so it was a little awkward at first but I got the hang of it. My dad though at 6'2" had a tough time.

I also want to comment on the shampoo, conditioner, body wash, and lotion the give you at the Poly. Its called h20 and it was great. We brought our own not knowing what it would be like and my family ended up using what was given to us. Nowadays with the airlines charging for second bags I would say leave your stuff at home and use theirs. Once mousekeeping saw we were using it they gave us plenty more to keep us stocked up.

There is a little bar area in between the two closets. It hides the fridge underneath and next to the fridge there are a few shelves which are good if you buy some food and you want to store it.

The beds were extremely comfortable and were great because they were queen sized. The pillows are on the small side, but they were so comfortable that I often fell asleep within minutes. There is also a small couch in the room that pulls out into a single bed. My sister wanted to sleep on the single bed. She is about 5'7" as well and she fit fine length wise in the bed.

The flat screen TV was great and the space that it created was even better too. There is also a small shelf above the TV which is where we kept our refillable mugs.

Grounds-I thought the grounds were beautiful. At night it really feels like you are on a tropical island. The torches being lit and the plant life really doesnt give you the feeling you are in WDW. Its quiet and if you find yourself by the Marina at night you feel like you are the only one around for miles. Also if you are looking for quiet time do not use the beach by the pool at night because it is filled with kiddies.

Food- This was the one major downside for my family at this resort. We often come back from the parks looking to get a bite to eat. We found the menu to be extremely limited. Also, they are now using touch screens for you to order which was just a pain. The one night we ate there I wanted fries with my burger and could not do it!

CMs- I have to say that the CMs at the Poly are some of the nicest I have met on property. No matter where you are in the resort, every CM you pass says Aloha! They always seem to be smiling and having a great time. Really made me feel at home.

Pool- My family did not have a chance to swim in the pool, but at night the main pool area was crowded! The kids looked like they were having a blast. The slide always had a long line with kids eager to get on it again.

The quiet pool was really that! Whenever we passed there were only a few people (mainly adults) in it. I probably would have headed to the quiet pool.

Location- We absolutely loved having the 5 minute monorail to MK. To know at the end of the day that we didnt have to run to our car was great. The walk over to the TTC for Epcot wasnt too bad but we did attempt to take the monorail to the TTC to then jump on to another monorail for Epcot and that took forever! I definitely recommend walking to the TTC. It was a short car ride to DHS and AK. I cannot comment on the bus system because we had a car.

Torch lighting ceremony-only about a minute long. It is at 6 PM every night and if you have the chance check it out.
 
 

Show All Reviews

Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page