Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 

Main Directory: 

         
     Write Your Own Review Of

Renaissance World Gate Hotel

by ZZZ

  
What is the Rating Scale?
5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0 Outstanding
4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0 Recommended
3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0 OK, but not great
2/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.0 Disappointing
1/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.0 Poor
    
    

Description:
3011 Maingate Lane, Kissimmee

    
 

We welcome reviews of Renaissance World Gate Hotel . For the benefit of others, be sure to focus your comments on how the hotel, restaurant or service succeeded (or failed) to live up to your expectations. Please read our review guidelines for more information. Some recent reviews are provided at the bottom of this page.

All reviews should include the following information. Reviews submitted without the required information will be returned. You may copy and paste these points into your review for simplicity. Please feel free to include additional comments:

Hotel Reviews:

Required:
· Date(s) of Stay:
· Type/Class of room (Standard, Concierge, Park View, etc)
· Accommodations Review:
· Rate/Night (for your stay):
Appreciated, but Optional:
· Ease of Disney Park Access:
· Park Shuttle Comments:
· General Restaurant/Lounge Impressions: (Please submit a separate Restaurant Review for more specific comments)
· Pool Description/Comments:

Restaurant Reviews:

Since the only way a more informed decision can be made by future visitors is by a full description, we ask that you provide more than just a sentence or two on the restaurant. Bad example: "The food was great and the waiters very attentive. I'd eat there again." Good example: "I ordered the house specialty (filet mignon) and it was cooked perfectly, my partner ordered the chicken which was rather dry but the orange sauce was good. We had heavenly flan for dessert, and the wait staff was very attentive. Dinner for two including wine was $40-50."

· Date of visit.
· Type of meal. (Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Drinks only, etc)
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Service, Price, Food, Atmosphere.

Ground transportation Services:

Ground transportation companies vary widely in the types of services offered, so please be specific about the details of your experience. Things to mention in your review:

· Date(s) you used the service.
· Destination. (Airport to hotel, airport to cruise port, hotel to theme parks, etc.)
· What type of vehicle. (Sedan, limo, van, shuttle, bus, etc.)
· How many people in your party and rate paid.
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Price, Vehicle Comfort / Cleanliness, Driver

Future visitors will certainly appreciate any extra information you can provide: how long was the trip to your destination; who paid for parking / tolls (you or the driver); were car seats offered or available, and at what cost; did you have to share the service with other customers; were grocery stops included in your trip; how knowledgeable was the driver.

Also, please note that to submit a review you will need to provide your MousePlanet registered MousePad Username and password.

Posting a review is a simple two-step process. First, complete the form below and click "Preview Your Review". This will allow you to see how your comments will appear online. If no changes are required you may then click the "SUBMIT Review" button at the bottom of the following page. Required fields are indicated with an asterisk*.

Your e-mail address is required, so that we may contact you with additional questions. You have two options to create an author byline to use with your review. You may choose to use your MousePad name only, or give both your e-mail address and MousePad user name a combination of these as your byline. You may not submit anonymous reviews.


To submit a review, you must be registered with MousePlanet in our community area: MousePad. You will need to enter your user ID and password below. If you have forgotten your MousePlanet password, click here to have it sent to you. If you have not yet registered, but would like to, click here.

 
MousePad Username:      Not yet registered?
Password:      Forgot your password?

 
The Review:
* 1. How do you rate Renaissance World Gate Hotel?
* 2. Date(s) of the visit being reviewed:
* 3. Type your review in the space below: (100-line maximum)
* 4. Your email address:
5. How would you like to sign your review?
e.g.   Tom Jones
  or Tom Jones (tjones@mouseplanet.com)

Use my MousePad user name only
Use both by MousePad user name and my email address
6. Where in the world are you? (e.g. Phoenix, Arizona):
7. Before forwarding your comments for online display, please take a minute to check over a preview of your review.
IMPORTANT. Click the button below ONCE only to preview your review. Please be patient, processing may take a few seconds.
The Fine Print:
  • By submitting your review you are giving MousePlanet the nonexclusive right to post your review on this web site (and possibly within other media).
  • Your review will be posted within five to seven business days.
  • Submissions that do not follow our review guidelines will not be posted.
Average Reviewer Rating:   2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5  Number of Renaissance World Gate Hotel Reviews: 1
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   April 24 - April 28, 2003
Reviewer: Wishful     June 23, 2003
*Note: I was so unhappy about our stay I wrote Marriott and Disney. Our room was "only" $35 a night, but I feel sorry for all the guests who paid full price expecting this hotel to match the website listings and Marriott name. We got the room on Priceline, but I was already going to book it through HotelKingdom.com anyway, so the you-get-what-you-bid-for warning did not apply to me as I would have booked it based on what I knew. If I was disappointed at $35 a night, then you know it was bad.

Here are a few things that fall into the "buyer beware" category that I learned and could help you with this or any other hotel:
-Do your hotel research! This hotel has been listed as a 3 or 4 star hotel; it is definitely not of that caliber. The Renaissance brand is one of the higher brands of Marriott, close to a Crowne Plaza or Hyatt, although this hotel was listed on the Marriott website as a Renaissance, I found out that Marriott recently acquired the hotel and that it was not the same quality as other Renaissance hotels;
-Many websites list this hotel as 1 mile away from WDW, it is one mile away from the property boundary, not 1 mile from the gate. It was a $12-$15 cab ride each way from the hotel (with an honest cabbie and depending on traffic) which translated to a 3.75-5 mile ride depending on which park you went to;
-The hotel listed "scheduled shuttle service". No matter where you stay, get a copy of the shuttle schedule! It will save you time, help you schedule, and if transportation is important (i.e. you don't have a rental car) it may affect your hotel choice.
Our shuttle schedule was this: Hotel to Animal Kingdom at 8:30am and 10:30am, EPCOT to Hotel 7:30pm and 9:30pm - NO afternoon service and the return was before the MK closed! Note that the drop-off location was AK only, and the return location was at EPCOT only. You had to use the Disney transportation system (and it is a good system) to get to and from the shuttle drop offs.

Room - Standard Room, Priceline.com $35 a night - We requested by phone and fax a non-smoking room. Despite my fax and phone call, we were put in a smoking room and were told the other group was so large they got all the non-smoking rooms. Even now, 6/03, our luggage still reeks of smoke! The room had a fridge, coffeemaker, iron & board, and hairdryer as promised. The room was stale and musty and the A/C and fridge were not turned on when we arrived. The fridge was in a little closet type space that was dirty underneath and made me think twice about putting food in the fridge. The best way to describe the decor was "worn down", not recently renovated as stated on websites, but it was OK - no bugs, major stains, etc., The bed linens were OK, but because the room didnt feel clean to me, I didnt really sleep well. Mind you, I didnt see any thing, stains or bugs, but I had that feelingHousekeeping did a nice job although we had to leave a note and tip everyday to keep the A/C on. We did get extra coffee with the tips! Furnishings in public areas were very worn, lamps were missing parts or not working at all, tabletops were dirty, carpeting was old.

Restaurant/Other Facility Comments -Due to a private family/religious (employees didnt know) the bar, coffee shop and main pool were CLOSED TO THE PUBLIC. This was not conveyed to guests in advance! During this time the hotel was sold out, so the remaining guests had to use a tiny pool, they put a temporary bar on a table in the video arcade (a 10x12 room), moved the arcade games to the snack bar seating area/hallway, put a wall around the snack bar to hide it from the family group and kept the windows and blinds in the lobby closed so we couldn't see the main pool. We were given a note the closures upon check-in, but when I saw the shabby plywood wall around the snack bar and the 50+ people trying to use the tiny pool, I was truly unhappy. The breakfast buffet advertised was not even available during our stay and since the coffee shop was closed, the snack bar was always crowded and out of food. The snack bar was listed as a "Food Court" and was totally inaccurate - it was one counter, one cashier with fruit, sodas, sandwiches and frozen pizza, no name-brand vendors as I've seen on internet listings of this hotel(Cinnabon, Pizza Hut, etc.).

Once the special event was over, the hotel looked new: furniture that had been removed from the lobby was replaced, the arcade games were moved from the main hallway into the game room, the ugly plywood wall was removed and you could see the bar and pool we never got to use. Because of the closures, we didn't use any of the hotel amenities other than the laundry room which was pretty dirty.

Staff - At the best "awful". Even though we waited in the lobby for this package and I made sure all the staff knew I was waiting for it, the package sat on a desk until that night supposedly because my name wasn't on it. My name was on an inner envelope, but not on the outer envelope which "disappeared". The shipper verified that the package had been signed for at 9am and my name was listed on the label.

This hotel didn't meet our expectations even without the hassle of watching a larger group that spent a lot of money get the run of the hotel.
 
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page