Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 

Main Directory: 

         
     Write Your Own Review Of

Boma at Animal Kingdom Lodge

by ZZZ

  
What is the Rating Scale?
5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0 Outstanding
4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0 Recommended
3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0 OK, but not great
2/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.0 Disappointing
1/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.0 Poor
    
    

Description:
Lavish buffet offering wide range of African specialities, along with more familiar offerings.

    
 

We welcome reviews of Boma at Animal Kingdom Lodge . For the benefit of others, be sure to focus your comments on how the hotel, restaurant or service succeeded (or failed) to live up to your expectations. Please read our review guidelines for more information. Some recent reviews are provided at the bottom of this page.

All reviews should include the following information. Reviews submitted without the required information will be returned. You may copy and paste these points into your review for simplicity. Please feel free to include additional comments:

Hotel Reviews:

Required:
· Date(s) of Stay:
· Type/Class of room (Standard, Concierge, Park View, etc)
· Accommodations Review:
· Rate/Night (for your stay):
Appreciated, but Optional:
· Ease of Disney Park Access:
· Park Shuttle Comments:
· General Restaurant/Lounge Impressions: (Please submit a separate Restaurant Review for more specific comments)
· Pool Description/Comments:

Restaurant Reviews:

Since the only way a more informed decision can be made by future visitors is by a full description, we ask that you provide more than just a sentence or two on the restaurant. Bad example: "The food was great and the waiters very attentive. I'd eat there again." Good example: "I ordered the house specialty (filet mignon) and it was cooked perfectly, my partner ordered the chicken which was rather dry but the orange sauce was good. We had heavenly flan for dessert, and the wait staff was very attentive. Dinner for two including wine was $40-50."

· Date of visit.
· Type of meal. (Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Drinks only, etc)
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Service, Price, Food, Atmosphere.

Ground transportation Services:

Ground transportation companies vary widely in the types of services offered, so please be specific about the details of your experience. Things to mention in your review:

· Date(s) you used the service.
· Destination. (Airport to hotel, airport to cruise port, hotel to theme parks, etc.)
· What type of vehicle. (Sedan, limo, van, shuttle, bus, etc.)
· How many people in your party and rate paid.
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Price, Vehicle Comfort / Cleanliness, Driver

Future visitors will certainly appreciate any extra information you can provide: how long was the trip to your destination; who paid for parking / tolls (you or the driver); were car seats offered or available, and at what cost; did you have to share the service with other customers; were grocery stops included in your trip; how knowledgeable was the driver.

Also, please note that to submit a review you will need to provide your MousePlanet registered MousePad Username and password.

Posting a review is a simple two-step process. First, complete the form below and click "Preview Your Review". This will allow you to see how your comments will appear online. If no changes are required you may then click the "SUBMIT Review" button at the bottom of the following page. Required fields are indicated with an asterisk*.

Your e-mail address is required, so that we may contact you with additional questions. You have two options to create an author byline to use with your review. You may choose to use your MousePad name only, or give both your e-mail address and MousePad user name a combination of these as your byline. You may not submit anonymous reviews.


To submit a review, you must be registered with MousePlanet in our community area: MousePad. You will need to enter your user ID and password below. If you have forgotten your MousePlanet password, click here to have it sent to you. If you have not yet registered, but would like to, click here.

 
MousePad Username:      Not yet registered?
Password:      Forgot your password?

 
The Review:
* 1. How do you rate Boma at Animal Kingdom Lodge?
* 2. Date(s) of the visit being reviewed:
* 3. Type your review in the space below: (100-line maximum)
* 4. Your email address:
5. How would you like to sign your review?
e.g.   Tom Jones
  or Tom Jones (tjones@mouseplanet.com)

Use my MousePad user name only
Use both by MousePad user name and my email address
6. Where in the world are you? (e.g. Phoenix, Arizona):
7. Before forwarding your comments for online display, please take a minute to check over a preview of your review.
IMPORTANT. Click the button below ONCE only to preview your review. Please be patient, processing may take a few seconds.
The Fine Print:
  • By submitting your review you are giving MousePlanet the nonexclusive right to post your review on this web site (and possibly within other media).
  • Your review will be posted within five to seven business days.
  • Submissions that do not follow our review guidelines will not be posted.
Average Reviewer Rating:   4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5  Number of Boma at Animal Kingdom Lodge Reviews: 34
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 2011
Reviewer: Kaits Inside Dish (kcap92@comcast.net) Orlando     December 18, 2011
The restaurant was vibrantly decorated with bright African inspired colors ranging from bright yellows, reds, purples, and greens. The Large buffet wrapped around the front of the restaurant showcasing the lively open kitchen which was situated behind.

Now normally I am not into buffets, theres something about the idea of food which is openly exposed to the public who messily grab plates full of food, just disguising. Plus a buffet with an endless supply of food can be very dangerous for an over eater like me. Boma however, was the exception; the buffet was kept extremely clean, and was supervised by a culinary cast member, who also freshly restocked each buffet offering within minutes of the dish becoming half empty.

Once sat in the large airy restaurant the chef came over to discuss my special dietary need, upon telling him I was a vegan he knowingly led me through the buffet pointing out all the vegan offerings which I would be able to eat. With a large selection of salads, soups, and rice dishes, I was excited to grab a plate and dig in.

I started out with the Harira Soup, a delicious hearty African spiced soup made with lentils, chickpeas, stewed tomatoes, cilantro, and onions. The soup was delicious and hearty, yet because it had a vegetable broth base it wasnt overly filling on the stomach.

Next it was onto a sampling of hummus, my favorite. I tried both the creamy sun dried tomato hummus and the savory black bean hummus served with soft Pita points, yum whats not to love about the creamy pureed spread, I honestly could have made a meal purely from the hummus and pitas, but with a buffet full of vegan offerings it was time to try next thing.

Next I had a helping of white Basmati rice topped with Chakalaka, a spicy sauce made of freshly stewed tomatoes and onions. This dish had just the right amount of spice and sweetness to it.

Next I had a heaping helping of the tunisian cous cous salad, a salad severed at room temperature made with corn, red onion, parsley, and red pepper. The cous cous salad was delicious and had a slightly nutty flavor.

I then helped myself to the refreshing watermelon rind salad, which was made with thinly sliced watermelon. The dish was quite interesting and had an immense gingery flavor. The combination of sweet watermelon and spicy ginger flavor made for one delicious combination.

I was doing a last browse through the buffet line when I noticed an offering of root vegetable that happened to look quite appealing, however, I didnt remember the chef ever saying that the selection of root vegetable were vegan. I questioningly inquired with my sever as to whether or not I could have the root vegetables. she promptly checked with the chef and reported that I was unable to have the root vegetables because they were finished with an herb butter (always ask first, a lot of restaurants use ingredients you otherwise wouldnt think to make the dish look more appealing, in this case the butter was used to add a delicate sheen to the dish). However, she did report that the chef would be happy to make me a vegan version of the dish, I was ecstatic.

Upon returning to the table I saw a plate filled with delicious seasoned root vegetables including parsnips, and carrots, plus there was a side of crisply seasoned broccolini and asparagus waiting for me. I couldnt be happier, the root vegetables were delicious and lightly seasoned in a buttery olive oil.

Although I was pretty much stuffed I did manage to save a bit of room for dessert. I decided on a selection of assorted fruit. Fresh honey dew, sweet pineapple, cantaloupe, crisp red grapes, and sugary red strawberries.

My Dad who claimed he was stuffed and only wanted coffee for dessert returned to the table with a plate full of mini desserts. Amongst the dessert was a caramel bread pudding which he claimed was absolutely decadent, there were also several creamy custard desserts which he noted were also delicious.

The chef then brought over a bowl of raspberry sorbet topped with fresh blueberries and raspberries which Dad and I split. A perfect light finish to our exotic African meal.

Boma was a delicious meal and definitely lived up to its highly talked about reputation. Boma is also open for Breakfast and from what I hear it makes for one amazingly delicious experience.

I definitely advise you to come hungry and be prepared to leave Boma completely stuffed, be advised to wear stretchy pants, buttons or tight skinny jeans are definitely are not recommended.
 
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   1/17/07 & 3/12/08
Reviewer: csuwyn Sacramento, CA     October 16, 2008
Boma is the only table service restaurant that my family has gone back to for a second time, and we'll probably be going back there again this January. The food is superb! The buffet has a variety of African dishes, as well as some delicious "safe" dishes for those of you that aren't too adventurous. This is my wfie's favorite restaurant in all of the Disney parks. The atmosphere is wonderful, all of the deep rich woods and African themes are beautiful. I've never been there for anything but dinner, but I'm sure the views out the windows would be wonderful during the day. The service, as it is at most of the Disney restaurants, is top notch. And the buffet line is always filled, you never have to wait for anything. I can't comment on price, because we use the Disney Dining Plan, but I'd say it's the best buffet for the money. If you're in for trying new things, this is the place for you. I recommend everything, but my wife would smack me if I didn't recommend the bread pudding to you. Enjoy!
 
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 20, 2008
Reviewer: mouseketeer70 Northport, Alabama     June 22, 2008
We wanted to see this resort as we are DVC members and like to scope out options for future trips. On the way over on an empty bus, the driver recommended Boma to us. As it was 5:00 we thought, why not. We were blown away by the beauty of the lobby but Boma is what will get us to return. We walked up to receptionist at the front and fully expected a very long wait, if they could even seat us at all. We did not have priority seating and the resorts were at 100% capacity so we just knew we wouldn't get in. Not only did we get in, the pager went off within 15 seconds of her handing it to us, literally! As it was our anniversary, and we were still wearing our anniversary buttons, we were given a happy anniversary card signed by all the cast members in their respective African dialects-pretty cool. Overall the staff was very friendly, from reception to the waitstaff to the food service/preparers. The food was amazing. There is a huge selection. My husband is not an adventurous eater and he found more than enough (and then some!) and we both loved it. The soups were amazing. My husband enjoyed all of the meat selections. The selection overall was huge, (and it included macaroni and cheese and such for kids or those who just didn't want to try anything new). Our waiter, Paul, was so nice and very attentive. We never had to want for drinks or anything. We were seated in a quiet table by the window which was great since we were without children and wanted a quiet, romantic dinner. Next time we will probably come for lunch instead of dinner as the price was a little high, but it was well worth it. And we will definitely return! We both enjoyed Boma and ate way too much. Everyone raves about the Zebra Domes, and they were good, but I have to say the Cheese Flan was my favorite dessert.
We had a great experience and some very delicious food.
 
 

Show All Reviews

Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page