Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 

Main Directory: 

         
     Write Your Own Review Of

Jiko at Animal Kingdom Lodge

by ZZZ

  
What is the Rating Scale?
5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0 Outstanding
4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0 Recommended
3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0 OK, but not great
2/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.0 Disappointing
1/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.0 Poor
    
    

Description:
Table service restaurant featuring "New African Cuisine", South African wines.

    
 

We welcome reviews of Jiko at Animal Kingdom Lodge . For the benefit of others, be sure to focus your comments on how the hotel, restaurant or service succeeded (or failed) to live up to your expectations. Please read our review guidelines for more information. Some recent reviews are provided at the bottom of this page.

All reviews should include the following information. Reviews submitted without the required information will be returned. You may copy and paste these points into your review for simplicity. Please feel free to include additional comments:

Hotel Reviews:

Required:
· Date(s) of Stay:
· Type/Class of room (Standard, Concierge, Park View, etc)
· Accommodations Review:
· Rate/Night (for your stay):
Appreciated, but Optional:
· Ease of Disney Park Access:
· Park Shuttle Comments:
· General Restaurant/Lounge Impressions: (Please submit a separate Restaurant Review for more specific comments)
· Pool Description/Comments:

Restaurant Reviews:

Since the only way a more informed decision can be made by future visitors is by a full description, we ask that you provide more than just a sentence or two on the restaurant. Bad example: "The food was great and the waiters very attentive. I'd eat there again." Good example: "I ordered the house specialty (filet mignon) and it was cooked perfectly, my partner ordered the chicken which was rather dry but the orange sauce was good. We had heavenly flan for dessert, and the wait staff was very attentive. Dinner for two including wine was $40-50."

· Date of visit.
· Type of meal. (Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Drinks only, etc)
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Service, Price, Food, Atmosphere.

Ground transportation Services:

Ground transportation companies vary widely in the types of services offered, so please be specific about the details of your experience. Things to mention in your review:

· Date(s) you used the service.
· Destination. (Airport to hotel, airport to cruise port, hotel to theme parks, etc.)
· What type of vehicle. (Sedan, limo, van, shuttle, bus, etc.)
· How many people in your party and rate paid.
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Price, Vehicle Comfort / Cleanliness, Driver

Future visitors will certainly appreciate any extra information you can provide: how long was the trip to your destination; who paid for parking / tolls (you or the driver); were car seats offered or available, and at what cost; did you have to share the service with other customers; were grocery stops included in your trip; how knowledgeable was the driver.

Also, please note that to submit a review you will need to provide your MousePlanet registered MousePad Username and password.

Posting a review is a simple two-step process. First, complete the form below and click "Preview Your Review". This will allow you to see how your comments will appear online. If no changes are required you may then click the "SUBMIT Review" button at the bottom of the following page. Required fields are indicated with an asterisk*.

Your e-mail address is required, so that we may contact you with additional questions. You have two options to create an author byline to use with your review. You may choose to use your MousePad name only, or give both your e-mail address and MousePad user name a combination of these as your byline. You may not submit anonymous reviews.


To submit a review, you must be registered with MousePlanet in our community area: MousePad. You will need to enter your user ID and password below. If you have forgotten your MousePlanet password, click here to have it sent to you. If you have not yet registered, but would like to, click here.

 
MousePad Username:      Not yet registered?
Password:      Forgot your password?

 
The Review:
* 1. How do you rate Jiko at Animal Kingdom Lodge?
* 2. Date(s) of the visit being reviewed:
* 3. Type your review in the space below: (100-line maximum)
* 4. Your email address:
5. How would you like to sign your review?
e.g.   Tom Jones
  or Tom Jones (tjones@mouseplanet.com)

Use my MousePad user name only
Use both by MousePad user name and my email address
6. Where in the world are you? (e.g. Phoenix, Arizona):
7. Before forwarding your comments for online display, please take a minute to check over a preview of your review.
IMPORTANT. Click the button below ONCE only to preview your review. Please be patient, processing may take a few seconds.
The Fine Print:
  • By submitting your review you are giving MousePlanet the nonexclusive right to post your review on this web site (and possibly within other media).
  • Your review will be posted within five to seven business days.
  • Submissions that do not follow our review guidelines will not be posted.
Average Reviewer Rating:   4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5  Number of Jiko at Animal Kingdom Lodge Reviews: 10
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   April 26, 2008
Reviewer: OneForTheTeam Boston, Massachusetts     May 02, 2008
This is the fourth time my wife and I have eaten at Jiko in three years and they have yet to let us down. They are absolutely one of the best restaurants in WDW.

This time we tried the flatbread and the ostrich appetizers. Both were very good, but the ostrich could have been pork.

Our entrees, the Berbere Braised Lamb Shank was very good and the Braised Beef Short Ribs are to die for. I hope they never take the short ribs off the menu.

The service at Jiko is very good. The waitstaff know their wine, too. Our waiter did an excellent job of pairing a glass with each course.
 
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   June 18, 2007
Reviewer: Chicago Wookiee Chicago, Illinois     July 29, 2007
Date: Monday June 18, 2007 with 9:20pm ADR.
Meal: Dinner.
Diners: Two adults.
Service: Attentive and friendly.
Price: $166 for two including wine and tip (used credits from our premium dining plan).
Value: Slightly overpriced.
Food: Good food served hot and quite attractive.
Atmosphere: Has a nice warm feeling but lacks some excitement and class for a high-end eatery.

First thing you need to know is that those on the Disney Dining Plan will be required to use two credits for each person. Those on the Disney Premium or Platinum Dining plans only use one dining credit. We made our reservations a full 180 days out and then changed to a later time just 80 days out without issue. When we arrived a couple had entered just ahead of us and was told that they had no spots available for that evening but did have available times just a few days out.

We were checked in for our ADR and seated within just a couple minutes. Our table was located near the front and close to the kitchen entrance right next to the wood burning oven. Our waiter engaged us soon after we sat down and focused in on some of the wine selections of which we settled on two glasses of a red wine that ended up being a little too strong for our liking.

For appetizers we ordered the Taste of Africa (Kalamata Olive Hummus, Durban Tikka Masala, and Malay Spinach-Lentil Dip with several breads) and the Maize and Sweet Potato Tamales. The spreads were quite good with the hummus being mild and the other two being more flavorful with a more complex array of spices. For the description of corn and sweet potato tamales I was surprised how much I liked them with a perfect balance of flavors and moisture to make everything come together quite nicely.

First entrée was the Chermoula Roasted Tanglewood Chicken that was not very memorable and had a plain flavor. Second was the Oak-Grilled Filet Mignon with macaroni and cheese that was better than expected with a thick rich cheese used with the macaroni and the meat was perfectly cooked and quite tender.

Desserts were good but we were filling up quickly. The first dessert was the Jiko Dream Pyramid that consisted of white chocolate mousse inside a dark chocolate pyramid with roasted banana and pineapple that was very rich and also quite beautiful to look at. We also had the Pistachio Crème Brulee that was layered with a fine cookie chocolate bottom. This crème brulee is not at the top on the list of our dessert favorites at WDW but the unusual chocolate bottom made it different enough that I would consider ordering it again.

There were almost no children there creating more of a quiet and more romantic setting and we were allowed (if not encouraged) to linger over our meal. The complete dinner took just under two hours and was one of the most relaxing meals we had on the trip. Some of that may have come from the late ADR we made but the warm atmosphere and service would be the same most any time.
 
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   10/28/05
Reviewer: burnell316 Elizabethtown PA     December 07, 2005
Dined at Jiko on October 28, 2005. The waitress, the appetizer, the dinners, and the desserts were among the best I have even experienced. The server was very attentive and knowledgeable. The flatbread appetizers were extraordinary. My wifes entrée of African Grains was all vegetarian and with bold unique spices and flavors. I had a spicy shrimp dish that was simply marvelous. The Crème Brule dessert was on a chocolate layer and was one the best desserts I have ever had, and I had never really liked Crème Brule before this! Jiko is a well rounded dinning experience, far FAR superior to the over-hyped lousy California Grill..
 
 

Show All Reviews

Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page