Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 

Main Directory: 

         
     Write Your Own Review Of

Picabu (formerly Tubbi's Cafeteria)

by ZZZ

  
What is the Rating Scale?
5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0 Outstanding
4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0 Recommended
3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0 OK, but not great
2/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.0 Disappointing
1/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.0 Poor
    
    

Description:
Quick service restaurant featuring American favorites at the Dolphin.

    
 

We welcome reviews of Picabu (formerly Tubbi's Cafeteria) . For the benefit of others, be sure to focus your comments on how the hotel, restaurant or service succeeded (or failed) to live up to your expectations. Please read our review guidelines for more information. Some recent reviews are provided at the bottom of this page.

All reviews should include the following information. Reviews submitted without the required information will be returned. You may copy and paste these points into your review for simplicity. Please feel free to include additional comments:

Hotel Reviews:

Required:
· Date(s) of Stay:
· Type/Class of room (Standard, Concierge, Park View, etc)
· Accommodations Review:
· Rate/Night (for your stay):
Appreciated, but Optional:
· Ease of Disney Park Access:
· Park Shuttle Comments:
· General Restaurant/Lounge Impressions: (Please submit a separate Restaurant Review for more specific comments)
· Pool Description/Comments:

Restaurant Reviews:

Since the only way a more informed decision can be made by future visitors is by a full description, we ask that you provide more than just a sentence or two on the restaurant. Bad example: "The food was great and the waiters very attentive. I'd eat there again." Good example: "I ordered the house specialty (filet mignon) and it was cooked perfectly, my partner ordered the chicken which was rather dry but the orange sauce was good. We had heavenly flan for dessert, and the wait staff was very attentive. Dinner for two including wine was $40-50."

· Date of visit.
· Type of meal. (Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Drinks only, etc)
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Service, Price, Food, Atmosphere.

Ground transportation Services:

Ground transportation companies vary widely in the types of services offered, so please be specific about the details of your experience. Things to mention in your review:

· Date(s) you used the service.
· Destination. (Airport to hotel, airport to cruise port, hotel to theme parks, etc.)
· What type of vehicle. (Sedan, limo, van, shuttle, bus, etc.)
· How many people in your party and rate paid.
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Price, Vehicle Comfort / Cleanliness, Driver

Future visitors will certainly appreciate any extra information you can provide: how long was the trip to your destination; who paid for parking / tolls (you or the driver); were car seats offered or available, and at what cost; did you have to share the service with other customers; were grocery stops included in your trip; how knowledgeable was the driver.

Also, please note that to submit a review you will need to provide your MousePlanet registered MousePad Username and password.

Posting a review is a simple two-step process. First, complete the form below and click "Preview Your Review". This will allow you to see how your comments will appear online. If no changes are required you may then click the "SUBMIT Review" button at the bottom of the following page. Required fields are indicated with an asterisk*.

Your e-mail address is required, so that we may contact you with additional questions. You have two options to create an author byline to use with your review. You may choose to use your MousePad name only, or give both your e-mail address and MousePad user name a combination of these as your byline. You may not submit anonymous reviews.


To submit a review, you must be registered with MousePlanet in our community area: MousePad. You will need to enter your user ID and password below. If you have forgotten your MousePlanet password, click here to have it sent to you. If you have not yet registered, but would like to, click here.

 
MousePad Username:      Not yet registered?
Password:      Forgot your password?

 
The Review:
* 1. How do you rate Picabu (formerly Tubbi's Cafeteria)?
* 2. Date(s) of the visit being reviewed:
* 3. Type your review in the space below: (100-line maximum)
* 4. Your email address:
5. How would you like to sign your review?
e.g.   Tom Jones
  or Tom Jones (tjones@mouseplanet.com)

Use my MousePad user name only
Use both by MousePad user name and my email address
6. Where in the world are you? (e.g. Phoenix, Arizona):
7. Before forwarding your comments for online display, please take a minute to check over a preview of your review.
IMPORTANT. Click the button below ONCE only to preview your review. Please be patient, processing may take a few seconds.
The Fine Print:
  • By submitting your review you are giving MousePlanet the nonexclusive right to post your review on this web site (and possibly within other media).
  • Your review will be posted within five to seven business days.
  • Submissions that do not follow our review guidelines will not be posted.
Average Reviewer Rating:   3.3 out of 53.3 out of 53.3 out of 53.3 out of 53.3 out of 5  Number of Picabu (formerly Tubbi's Cafeteria) Reviews: 3
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   August 8-15, 2007
Reviewer: dmwang9 San Francisco, CA     September 06, 2007
Note: Tubbi's was recently renovated and renamed Picabu. It's a 24-hour cafeteria-style counter service restaurant with both hot and cold items and a grab-no-go case. There's also a convenience-store area near the cashiers that sells candy, snacks, and sundries.

I stayed at the Dolphin for a week and ate all my breakfasts and a handful of my dinners at Picabu. The breakfasts I had were all standard American fare -- scrambled eggs, toast, sausage, grits, oatmeal, cold cereal, pancakes, and so on. All were on par were good diner food, something I am very fond of. The chefs were very accommodating. For example, one time my scrambled eggs turned out very loose and runny. When I asked if they could be thrown back on the griddle to make them drier, it was done with quickly and with a smile.

Another nice thing about breakfasts at Picabu was that they serve Starbucks drip coffee there. There isn't a full Starbucks menu -- no espresso, lattes, etc. -- just drip coffee made from Starbucks beans, but this was a HUGE improvement over the Nescafe dreck served by most other counter service places at WDW and the stuff that the in-room coffee maker produced. I need good, strong coffee in the mornings, and having access to Starbucks brew definitely hit the spot.

I also liked that the restaurant stocked soy milk (Silk brand vanilla). I'm lactose intolerant, and having easy access to soy milk was an unexpected plus.

For lunches and dinners, I mostly had grab-and-go sandwiches (the turkey sandwich meal was a particular favorite-- I had this three times over the course of a week) and a few hot entrees. I tried the meat loaf dinner and chicken pot pie dinner. Both were simple, lightly seasoned (which is what I like), wholesome, and filling.

The staff was uniformly friendly, outgoing, and helpful. I ate breakfast there every morning at about the same time each day, and after a few days, the staff came to recognize me, ask me what I planning to do that day, and so on. Some of them even remembered what I had told them I was going to do the previous day and asked me what I had liked, if I had ridden certain rides, and so on. Clearly, they were fans of Disney as well as cast members.

The decor was "casual festive" -- lots of bright colors and simple, uncluttered layout and design. The place did tend to get crowded during peak times, but turnover was fast.

The one somewhat negative thing I have to say about Picabu (which is why it gets 4 planets rather than 5) is that it was slightly more expensive than other counter service restaurants, maybe $10 - 15 per meal rather than the $8 - 12 I paid at other CS places during my trip. (FYI, I drank only water and never had dessert.)

Overall, I was glad that Picabu was in my hotel during my stay. It proved to be a convenient, reliable source of food. While I wouldn't make a special trip to the Dolphin to eat there, if I stay at the Dolphin in the future, I'll definitely go back to Picabu.
 
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   12/6/04
Reviewer: eponine119 Salt Lake City, UT     December 09, 2004
Tubbi's Cafeteria in the Dolphin hotel offered a large variety of items when we visited for lunch. I ordered the lasagna, which had a large portion size and included a breadstick. My dining companion had a pre-made tuna sandwich and a bowl of chicken noodle soup. The quality of the food was decent, not terribly special. Our meals, including 2 canned drinks, cost about $25.

The cafeteria also has a small convenience store, with a wider variety of items than a typical gift shop, including bottled Starbucks coffee and packets of Huggies diapers.

The seating area was extremely quiet -- only one other table was occupied in the early afternoon.
 
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   April 2002
Reviewer: susieqintexas Texas     August 01, 2002
Great burgers, fun atmosphere...great place to grab a late bite after checking in or a late day at the parks!
 
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page