Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 

Main Directory: 

         
     Write Your Own Review Of

Kona Cafe

by ZZZ

  
What is the Rating Scale?
5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0 Outstanding
4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0 Recommended
3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0 OK, but not great
2/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.0 Disappointing
1/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.0 Poor
    
    

Description:
Moderate table service cafe featuring Pacific Rim cuisine. Don't forget to try the Tonga Toast for breakfast!

    
 

We welcome reviews of Kona Cafe . For the benefit of others, be sure to focus your comments on how the hotel, restaurant or service succeeded (or failed) to live up to your expectations. Please read our review guidelines for more information. Some recent reviews are provided at the bottom of this page.

All reviews should include the following information. Reviews submitted without the required information will be returned. You may copy and paste these points into your review for simplicity. Please feel free to include additional comments:

Hotel Reviews:

Required:
· Date(s) of Stay:
· Type/Class of room (Standard, Concierge, Park View, etc)
· Accommodations Review:
· Rate/Night (for your stay):
Appreciated, but Optional:
· Ease of Disney Park Access:
· Park Shuttle Comments:
· General Restaurant/Lounge Impressions: (Please submit a separate Restaurant Review for more specific comments)
· Pool Description/Comments:

Restaurant Reviews:

Since the only way a more informed decision can be made by future visitors is by a full description, we ask that you provide more than just a sentence or two on the restaurant. Bad example: "The food was great and the waiters very attentive. I'd eat there again." Good example: "I ordered the house specialty (filet mignon) and it was cooked perfectly, my partner ordered the chicken which was rather dry but the orange sauce was good. We had heavenly flan for dessert, and the wait staff was very attentive. Dinner for two including wine was $40-50."

· Date of visit.
· Type of meal. (Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Drinks only, etc)
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Service, Price, Food, Atmosphere.

Ground transportation Services:

Ground transportation companies vary widely in the types of services offered, so please be specific about the details of your experience. Things to mention in your review:

· Date(s) you used the service.
· Destination. (Airport to hotel, airport to cruise port, hotel to theme parks, etc.)
· What type of vehicle. (Sedan, limo, van, shuttle, bus, etc.)
· How many people in your party and rate paid.
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Price, Vehicle Comfort / Cleanliness, Driver

Future visitors will certainly appreciate any extra information you can provide: how long was the trip to your destination; who paid for parking / tolls (you or the driver); were car seats offered or available, and at what cost; did you have to share the service with other customers; were grocery stops included in your trip; how knowledgeable was the driver.

Also, please note that to submit a review you will need to provide your MousePlanet registered MousePad Username and password.

Posting a review is a simple two-step process. First, complete the form below and click "Preview Your Review". This will allow you to see how your comments will appear online. If no changes are required you may then click the "SUBMIT Review" button at the bottom of the following page. Required fields are indicated with an asterisk*.

Your e-mail address is required, so that we may contact you with additional questions. You have two options to create an author byline to use with your review. You may choose to use your MousePad name only, or give both your e-mail address and MousePad user name a combination of these as your byline. You may not submit anonymous reviews.


To submit a review, you must be registered with MousePlanet in our community area: MousePad. You will need to enter your user ID and password below. If you have forgotten your MousePlanet password, click here to have it sent to you. If you have not yet registered, but would like to, click here.

 
MousePad Username:      Not yet registered?
Password:      Forgot your password?

 
The Review:
* 1. How do you rate Kona Cafe?
* 2. Date(s) of the visit being reviewed:
* 3. Type your review in the space below: (100-line maximum)
* 4. Your email address:
5. How would you like to sign your review?
e.g.   Tom Jones
  or Tom Jones (tjones@mouseplanet.com)

Use my MousePad user name only
Use both by MousePad user name and my email address
6. Where in the world are you? (e.g. Phoenix, Arizona):
7. Before forwarding your comments for online display, please take a minute to check over a preview of your review.
IMPORTANT. Click the button below ONCE only to preview your review. Please be patient, processing may take a few seconds.
The Fine Print:
  • By submitting your review you are giving MousePlanet the nonexclusive right to post your review on this web site (and possibly within other media).
  • Your review will be posted within five to seven business days.
  • Submissions that do not follow our review guidelines will not be posted.
Average Reviewer Rating:   4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5  Number of Kona Cafe Reviews: 18
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   January 2010
Reviewer: stan4d_steph Glenville, NY     January 31, 2010
Breakfast at the Kona Cafe has become something of a tradition for me when I visit WDW, especially if I have competed in a race. This visit it was a couple of days after I had completed the WDW half marathon.

We had breakfast on a Monday morning, and it was not crowded, although I had used the online system to reserve our place. Our server was attentive, but the wait did seem longer than usual for our food.

We had the Kona coffee press pot and split an order of Tonga Toast. It's a lot to finish off for one person! The coffee seemed a little bit weaker this time, which was a little disappointing. I always look forward to the good coffee they serve there. I've also had the Samoan before, and it was delicious.

Overall, I still would highly recommend a trip for breakfast. We took a cab there from the Animal Kingdom Lodge to avoid the long time via Disney transit. Cost was about $22 with tip, but well worth the time savings. From there it's just a quick monorail ride to the Magic Kingdom!
 
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 31, 2009
Reviewer: Jodieileen6 Mechanicsburg, OH     June 12, 2009
We ate dinner here May 31. It was very busy outside the restaurant--people were waiting for seating at O'hana. Our food was excellent. I had the scallops and shrimp, my boyfriend had the teriyaki steak, and my son had yogurt and rice and something else from the kids menu. For dessert we had banana chocolate creme brulee' and chocolate fondue.

As good as the food was (I'm still dreaming about that creme brulee'), our server was just that bad. She disappeared for long periods of time and repeatedly forgot the coffee I ordered for dessert. Finally, the fourth time by our table after delivering dessert, she actually stopped by and said, "At this point, do you want your coffee to go?" Um, NO. I wanted it with my dessert!

All that said, you should definitely go to Kona Cafe'. The food is some of the best I've had at Disney World and as long as you don't get our server, you should have a good experience.

In summary:

Service: Absolutely horrible. I did notice other servers giving good service to their tables.
Price: The food was of excellent quality, and so I would say the price was fair. We used the Dining Plan.
Food: YUMMY YUMMY YUMMY. The food is what saved my opinion of the Kona Cafe. All of it was delicious, and I'm sure anything from the menu would have been as well. We will definitely go back to the Kona Cafe on our next trip.
Atmosphere: Quiet it ain't. If you want to experience the Polynesian or an open-air pastry shop, go to the Kona Cafe. If you want a quiet intimate dinner, go somewhere else.
 
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   June 19, 2007
Reviewer: Chicago Wookiee Chicago, Illinois     July 29, 2007
Date: Tuesday June 19, 2007 with 7:50am ADR.
Meal: Breakfast
Service: Friendly and engaging.
Price: $34 (used dining plan credits).
Value: Average for resort table service breakfast.
Food: All had good flavor.
Atmosphere: Nice ceiling fans. No wall facing the lobby and lots of people waiting for the Ohana character breakfast made it much too loud.

We arrived early for our ADR and were seated almost immediately as the restaurant was still mostly empty. It was pretty clear this would have been one meal on the trip that we wouldnt have needed an ADR. The number of people waiting for the Ohana character breakfast seemed immense and walk-ups for that meal were being told there were no available spots and that is how it seemed that many of the guests came to eat at Kona.

Our waitress was very friendly and clearly explained their specialties and what we could get that would be included on the dining plan. We were surprised to learn that the fruit smoothies were included and so we each ordered one. We had the orange passion fruit, and strawberry banana smoothies and were quite pleased with the nice fruit flavors and full creaminess of them both.

We both ordered the Tonga Toast which is a very thick slice of sourdough bread stuffed with bananas and coated in sugar and cinnamon. This was the draw of the restaurant for us and it was a good start to the day. The Tonga Toast was almost a bit dry but the flavor was good and the pineapple wedge helped round it out. Each came with a choice of meat and both the bacon and ham were thick and moist cuts with plenty of flavor. A diner at the next table had ordered the Macadamia Pineapple Pancakes and expressed to her family that she had never had such good pancakes in her life. Something we can add to the to-do list for the next trip.

Even though it was a bit noisy the food and service would bring us back to try other dishes. The Tonga Toast is also available at Boatwrights inside the Port Orleans Riverside resort but with a strawberry banana sauce rather than the cinnamon sugar.
 
 

Show All Reviews

Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page