Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 

Main Directory: 

         
     Write Your Own Review Of

Mickey's Backyard Bar-B-Que

by ZZZ

  
What is the Rating Scale?
5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0 Outstanding
4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0 Recommended
3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0 OK, but not great
2/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.0 Disappointing
1/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.0 Poor
    
    

Description:
Mickey's Backyard Bar-B-Que is held outdoors, near Pioneer Hall at Fort Wilderness. Run only during the summer when an overflow for the usually-booked Hoop Dee Doo is needed. Country music and a lot of characters provide the atmosphere. The food includes ribs, chicken, burgers, hot dogs, ribs, corn bread, barbecue beans and more served buffet style.

    
 

We welcome reviews of Mickey's Backyard Bar-B-Que . For the benefit of others, be sure to focus your comments on how the hotel, restaurant or service succeeded (or failed) to live up to your expectations. Please read our review guidelines for more information. Some recent reviews are provided at the bottom of this page.

All reviews should include the following information. Reviews submitted without the required information will be returned. You may copy and paste these points into your review for simplicity. Please feel free to include additional comments:

Hotel Reviews:

Required:
· Date(s) of Stay:
· Type/Class of room (Standard, Concierge, Park View, etc)
· Accommodations Review:
· Rate/Night (for your stay):
Appreciated, but Optional:
· Ease of Disney Park Access:
· Park Shuttle Comments:
· General Restaurant/Lounge Impressions: (Please submit a separate Restaurant Review for more specific comments)
· Pool Description/Comments:

Restaurant Reviews:

Since the only way a more informed decision can be made by future visitors is by a full description, we ask that you provide more than just a sentence or two on the restaurant. Bad example: "The food was great and the waiters very attentive. I'd eat there again." Good example: "I ordered the house specialty (filet mignon) and it was cooked perfectly, my partner ordered the chicken which was rather dry but the orange sauce was good. We had heavenly flan for dessert, and the wait staff was very attentive. Dinner for two including wine was $40-50."

· Date of visit.
· Type of meal. (Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Drinks only, etc)
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Service, Price, Food, Atmosphere.

Ground transportation Services:

Ground transportation companies vary widely in the types of services offered, so please be specific about the details of your experience. Things to mention in your review:

· Date(s) you used the service.
· Destination. (Airport to hotel, airport to cruise port, hotel to theme parks, etc.)
· What type of vehicle. (Sedan, limo, van, shuttle, bus, etc.)
· How many people in your party and rate paid.
· While you will probably cover these points in your written review, please also include a one-line rating of the following four aspects of your visit: Price, Vehicle Comfort / Cleanliness, Driver

Future visitors will certainly appreciate any extra information you can provide: how long was the trip to your destination; who paid for parking / tolls (you or the driver); were car seats offered or available, and at what cost; did you have to share the service with other customers; were grocery stops included in your trip; how knowledgeable was the driver.

Also, please note that to submit a review you will need to provide your MousePlanet registered MousePad Username and password.

Posting a review is a simple two-step process. First, complete the form below and click "Preview Your Review". This will allow you to see how your comments will appear online. If no changes are required you may then click the "SUBMIT Review" button at the bottom of the following page. Required fields are indicated with an asterisk*.

Your e-mail address is required, so that we may contact you with additional questions. You have two options to create an author byline to use with your review. You may choose to use your MousePad name only, or give both your e-mail address and MousePad user name a combination of these as your byline. You may not submit anonymous reviews.


To submit a review, you must be registered with MousePlanet in our community area: MousePad. You will need to enter your user ID and password below. If you have forgotten your MousePlanet password, click here to have it sent to you. If you have not yet registered, but would like to, click here.

 
MousePad Username:      Not yet registered?
Password:      Forgot your password?

 
The Review:
* 1. How do you rate Mickey's Backyard Bar-B-Que?
* 2. Date(s) of the visit being reviewed:
* 3. Type your review in the space below: (100-line maximum)
* 4. Your email address:
5. How would you like to sign your review?
e.g.   Tom Jones
  or Tom Jones (tjones@mouseplanet.com)

Use my MousePad user name only
Use both by MousePad user name and my email address
6. Where in the world are you? (e.g. Phoenix, Arizona):
7. Before forwarding your comments for online display, please take a minute to check over a preview of your review.
IMPORTANT. Click the button below ONCE only to preview your review. Please be patient, processing may take a few seconds.
The Fine Print:
  • By submitting your review you are giving MousePlanet the nonexclusive right to post your review on this web site (and possibly within other media).
  • Your review will be posted within five to seven business days.
  • Submissions that do not follow our review guidelines will not be posted.
Average Reviewer Rating:   3.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 5  Number of Mickey's Backyard Bar-B-Que Reviews: 2
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   6/14/08
Reviewer: FMTX Dallas, Texas     September 19, 2008
Food 4 planets; Service 4 planets; Price 3 planets; Atmostphere 5 planets.

We went to the BBQ for the first time. I was hesitant as you get totally mixed reviews on it. We had some friends go last year whose kids loved it so I somewhat reluctantly planned it based on their recommendation. We have 6 & 8 year old boys and they loved it particularly the younger one who asked if we could go back to the BBQ everyday the rest of our trip. Before I go into my rundown I would say if your kids like character interaction, you like BBQ type food and you and your kids dont mind dealing with chaos than I would highly recommend it. If you do not particularly like any of that, than I would avoid it.

Get there early. It starts at 6:30 but get there by 6:00 and leave plenty of time for travel. We stayed at WL and got to the boat dock just a little after 5pm, but everyone else going to the BBQ and Hoop-Dee-Doo or the campfire had the same idea so we had to wait about 45 minutes for three boats. They had Cowboy Goofy and Chip & Dale doing autographs and pictures until about 6:00pm. I heard a CM say they come out about 5:30pm. You wait in an area outside the pavilion where there are games for the kids and they bring you free drinks (beer, wine, lemonade, fruit punch, etc.). At about 6:20 or so they did the come and get it call and open up the pavilion. It is a mad rush to the tables. The stage is in the middle of one side of the pavilion with the dance floor right in front of it so everyone rushes to get in front of the stage. I had read reviews here on mouseplanet that it can get pretty hot so we went to a table close to one side where the breeze was coming into the pavilion and we were just two tables from the dance floor and near the stage with a constant breeze. If you were in the middle of the pavilion with no breeze I can see how it could get hot but we were fine. After you get your seats it is a rush to the food lines. They had I think 4 lines with all the same things. It was very good BBQ food. The thing I really like about the food, drinks including beer & wine and desserts is it was out the entire time right up to 8:30. As we left just after 8:30, they were just putting the last of the hot food away but still had the non-alcoholic drinks and ice cream desserts available. We took an ice cream for the road which the CMs were encouraging and most people were doing.

The show consists of a county band playing, Cowboy Mickey, Minnie & Goofy, Picnic Chef Chip & Dale dancing with the kids in chaos on the dance floor, doing line dancing with the kids and a cowboy roper which was awesome. The characters come and go several times throughout the night and during the second half of the night Mickey and Minnie come by all the tables. For the first hour or so it is complete chaos particularly during the character dancing segments where kids and parents with cameras run to the dance floor and crowd the characters. However, a lot of people left early (?) so the second half of the evening wasnt bad and my wife got some really good pictures. Mickey and Minnie make it to all the tables quickly because about ½ the crowd left by that time.

In all we will go back our next trip because the kids liked it so much. Myself and my oldest son dont handle chaos very well but I prepared myself for it and the latter half of the evening wasnt bad with so many people leaving early so my oldest son got into it. My youngest loves chaos and thought the whole night was awesome. A side note here is we stayed to the very end and spent some time looking at the animals at Circle D Ranch and walking around that part of Fort Wilderness. We ended up taking the 9:30 horse wagon ride which you can catch near the front of the Hoop-Dee-Doo and is a first come first serve line. This was probably the best value of your trip. It was $8/adult and $5/child and for the 9:30 ride you go on about 15 minute ride around Fort Wilderness than they take you to the lakefront for a perfect view of the Electric Water Parade than they get the wagon into position to watch the 10:00pm fireworks at MK which you have a perfect view of. They start up a generator at a nearby building and feed in the soundtrack (music and dialogue) that is played in MK so it is like watching the fireworks in the park but with no noise which is great for us since our 6 year old hates the bangs. After the fireworks you take a short ride back to near the Hoop-Dee-Doo building. It was my favorite part of the trip and I would highly recommend it especially if you go to the BBQ and stay for the whole thing.
 
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   June 2003
Reviewer: luvmyboys Marysville, OH     February 08, 2005
This was a fun experience - picnic style food (hot dogs, beans, corn on the cob, corn bread, etc) and a lively environment. But it was so HOT and CROWDED that it really distracted from the fun! The concept is a BBQ with Mickey and friends. When the characters come out, you are allowed to dance with them...but there are so many others there that it is just a swarm of people. And this is held in an open-air (read HOT) pavillion. We've never gotten so sweaty over dinner! The singing, dancing, and music were fun, and some of the best pictures of our trip, but we ended up leaving a little early to go back and take a swim to cool off. The kids really enjoyed it, and they did have all-you-care-to-drink wine, so it's not without it's perks!
 
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page